Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Did they wire up my system incorrectly?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I just had a 7.6 kW system installed, but I am concerned they wired it incorrectly. It passed inspection a few days ago and I and waiting for PTO. I turned it on to test it (and because I am excited). When I connect to the inverter (Tesla) over wifi, it says I have two active strings. The other two show low voltage and "(no MCI detected)". I thought I should have four strings active, so I opened up the inverter and started looking around. Here is how it is wired:

IMG_0849.jpeg

IMG_0848.jpeg

And here is the wiring diagram:

IMG_0850.jpeg

I'm no electrician, but it looks to me like they wired it as a 3.8 kW system with two combined strings. Can someone with more knowledge help me understand what's going on?

Thanks!

The solar monitoring isn’t live on my Tesla app yet. I think they activate it after PTO.

Who did your install? I havent heard of not being able to see production of a tesla system in the tesla app, after its installed, but perhaps thats a thing now? I would start by trying to see production first (I would have started with that before opening up wiring, personally).

Perfectly sunny, no obstructions or shade, and all panels are south facing. Here's what the web interface to the inverter is showing right now, a little after noon. The voltage on strings 3 and 4 do fluctuate a bit, but never go very high.

IMG_0851.PNG

Perfectly sunny, no obstructions or shade, and all panels are south facing. Here's what the web interface to the inverter is showing right now, a little after noon. The voltage on strings 3 and 4 do fluctuate a bit, but never go very high.

View attachment 858963
Looks like you are good. 5.8kW is probably all you will get this time of year depending on the angle of sun incidence.

Reactions: h2ofun and MP3Mike