TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Difficulty accessing TMC via Bigpond ADSL in Australia?

Discussion in 'Australia & New Zealand' started by TesAus, Sep 10, 2016.

  1. TesAus

    TesAus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi all,

    If I try to bring up teslamotorsclub via my home broadband either using my iPhone or laptop I get "server not responding" or "can't establish a secure connection to server" messages.

    It only seems to be the TMC website that is having the issue, I have tried other US and local websites and no issue.

    If I use the same devices via mobile broadband - no problem connecting.

    It's never been an issue before and I haven't changed any settings that I know of.

    Is anyone else having the same issue?
     
  2. Brian May

    Brian May Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Just a random thought, do you have any problems accessing Google?

    I note that teslamotorsclub.com has an IPv6 address, and Telstra has recently started supporting IPv6 on BigPond. If, for any possible number of reasons, you are are getting IPv6 support enabled, but it is broken, then this might be an explanation. You don't need IPv6 support, and everything should work fine on IPv4, but if your computer thinks IPv6 is available and it isn't - or it is broken, this could be a problem.

    http://whirlpool.net.au/wiki/hw_feature_242

    However, I would have expected you should have problems accessing Google too, as Google also supports IPv6 by default.

    A good way to checkout would be to visit the following websites:

    Test your IPv6. - should automatically test your system and say if it finds anything broken. Again, lack of IPv6 is not a problem, but broken IPv6 support is a problem.

    http://ipv6.whatismyv6.com/ - should fail immediately if IPv6 is not supported, if it takes some time and then errors out then your computer was trying to connect using IPv6 but failed.

    What is my IPv6 Address? - Should fall back to IPv4 if IPv6 not available.
     
  3. Homer

    Homer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    In case it helps with your troubleshooting, I'm on BigPond ADSL and I'm not having this issue.
     
  4. strykeroz

    strykeroz Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Likewise, Telstra cable here and no issues fwiw.
     
  5. TesAus

    TesAus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Have tried the IPv6 tests and it shows it as not supported.

    Have no problems accessing Google or other sites.

    Have tried resetting DNS servers and clearing the DNS cache, but still no luck. If I can bring myself to waste many hours I will have to give India a call....
     
  6. RichardMcN

    RichardMcN Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Messages:
    380
    Location:
    Sydney
    My suggestion:

    Turn everything off at the power point and get a good nights sleep.

    If it still doesn't work tomorrow then get someone in who is good at this stuff !
     
    • Like x 2
  7. baillies

    baillies Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    No issues here, could someone at home have setup a filter to block your access? Maybe you are talking too much Tesla and not paying enough attention to someone ;-) I know my wife is close to killing me as I have been talking about Tesla/EV's since before we got married over 10 years ago.
     
    • Like x 1
  8. meloccom

    meloccom Moderator Aus/NZ

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,316
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Try turning off IPV6 in your network settings.
     
  9. TesAus

    TesAus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    So it seems to have resolved itself over night with no further action except resetting the modem (again).

    Anyway happy days it is back to normal!
     
  10. RichardMcN

    RichardMcN Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Messages:
    380
    Location:
    Sydney
  11. Ramjet73

    Ramjet73 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    This sort of problem is usually a routing/DNS issue from the IP address that Telstra assigned you to a given server/s. You can confirm it through ping testing.

    Provided you're not using a static IP then restarting the modem will eventually fix it when you get assigned a different IP address that isn't being blocked.

    Saw this a few times back in my time working there in particular with the Racing Victoria website. Getting anyone there to actually deal with it is nigh on impossible even back in the day when everything was still on-shore.

    If you are on a static IP then one other (not ideal) option is going through a Proxy server.

    Alternatively, you could just change to a better provider ;-)
     

Share This Page