TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

DIY Power Lift gate for Tesla Model S Walkthrough Video

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by BigTonyTones, Jan 30, 2017.

  1. Powerflux

    Powerflux Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    I really don`t think it matters but on mine where they are labeled L/R, the right hand side have gray plugs and blue on the left side!!
     
  2. druken

    druken Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    CA
    I installed the button on the top part of the handle cup too, but once I tighten the nut on the other side of the handle cup, the bolt (on the other side of the button) extends too far and the handle cup cannot be inserted back into the lift gate. So I had to loosen the nut and only rely on the 3M tape to stick the button on to the handle cup.

    I wish we can get the oem power liftgate handle cup and wire it up properly.
     
  3. dennis_d

    dennis_d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    CA
    It's going to be a problem to insert it back. You usually insert bottom part first (with the button installed) and then lock it on the top, you can do it in the opposite way you can break the locks on the bottom.
     
  4. Cricket88

    Cricket88 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Gotcha I see the problem. Thanks for the answers I went ahead and installed it to the bottom. For what it's worth, the OEM button uses 3 wires as well so it should be relatively simple to retrofit. When I have a moment, I'll research Mouser for the proper male harness so it can be plug/play IMG_0642.JPG
     
    • Like x 1
  5. Cricket88

    Cricket88 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    went to the service center and picked up the switch yesterday. Ill try to test it today and identify the connections.

    In the meantime, here are the part numbers for those who might be interested!

    1009264-00-E - plastic handle $19
    1010327-00-A - Switch $47.44
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Like x 1
  6. dennis_d

    dennis_d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    CA
    Di
    Let us know if it works :)
     
  7. Cricket88

    Cricket88 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Messed around a little with the factory switch today and I got it working! Here is the pin-out order.

    If you're looking at the switch from the backside (label up) the pins are from left to right:

    1) illumination (red)
    2) common ground (white)
    3) signal (continuity) to trunk (black)

    In the meantime, I used small female pins from a donor PC case ( the small pins from the power switch, motherboard speaker, etc. once I find the actual male harness from mouser, I'll update it here.

    IMG_0675.JPG
     
    • Informative x 2
  8. Cricket88

    Cricket88 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    IMG_0676.JPG

    On the Che1 autolift kit, the harness is color coded as follows:

    1) blank
    2) white (common ground)
    3) red (illumination)
    4) black (signal continuity to trunk)

    So basically cut the harness, and crimp terminal pins to the wires and connect them to the factory switch in the order I posted above for the factory pin-out.

    So far everything is working as it should!
     
    • Informative x 1
  9. dennis_d

    dennis_d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    CA
    So you just walked in the service center and ask to buy a liftgate button?
     
  10. Cricket88

    Cricket88 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    yup pretty much over the counter cash and carry
     
  11. Troyrod

    Troyrod Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Pasadena, ca
    Did you have to go to the service center to enable it on the touchscreen?
     
  12. Cricket88

    Cricket88 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    IMG_0677.JPG

    This is the connector I used and it fits snuggly into the factory switch. You can find these in any old donor computer case or at Frys/Microcenter.
     
  13. BigTonyTones

    BigTonyTones Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    do you mind posting a picture of the final install? I greatly appreciate it
     
  14. dennis_d

    dennis_d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    CA
    The connector looks exactly the same you hook up to the lock m I wonder if che1 can sell them retail :)
    Do you happen to have the part number?
     
  15. Cricket88

    Cricket88 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Here you go. Wasn't really sure what to take a photo of, but here is the "finished" harness from the Che1 kit and spliced to the custom 3-pin harness. Also a picture of the harness plugged into the factory switch, and lastly the final result:

    IMG_0693.JPG IMG_0694.JPG IMG_0695.JPG
     
    • Like x 2
  16. Cricket88

    Cricket88 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I do not. I tried to do some light research on Mouser for the correct pigtail but gave up because the computer case connector worked and Mouser turned up too many potential hits...
     
  17. dennis_d

    dennis_d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    CA
    I exchanged couple email with Tao, from Chi. They might consider building a connector of OEM Tesla button
     
  18. Sm4llz

    Sm4llz Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    How was this enable on the touchscreen? Was it automatically added once everything was connected?
     
  19. dennis_d

    dennis_d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    CA
    Yes
     
  20. Buddy

    Buddy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Riverside County
    i just read this thread and i am confused.

    Will someone dumb down the process into a step 1 step 2 format for me? If i can add a power liftgate for $50 i am going to grin ear to ear.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC