TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Do I have a SPORT motor in my BASE roadster?

Discussion in 'Roadster' started by m0rph, Jul 31, 2015.

Tags:
  1. m0rph

    m0rph Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    Belgium
    During the cleaning, I took a picture of the labels on my motor. It mentions "SPORT" on both labels. If so, I would think one day I can make it run like a SPORT, as the PEMs in both cars should be identical (based on a user here that had his PEM replaced under warranty, and he received a sport labelled PEM in his base car). Then it would only require a PEM firmware upgrade..

    My car was built as one of the very latest (November 2011), so it might be possible that they had more sport motors on stock and decided to go this route.

    WP_20150718_17_16_40_Pro.jpg
     
  2. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,440
    Maybe now that Roadster is long out of production, someone will finally come forward and let us know specifically what is different between sport and non-sport motor & PEM. For now, I think we are only guessing what could be different. At one point I recall them saying that Sport motors were "hand wound" (as apposed to "machine wound" I assume.)
    Some speculated that the Sport PEM had extra IGBTs to provide more current. Just because a non-sport car got a Sport PEM installed and working, doesn't necessarily mean you turn a non-Sport into a Sport with just a firmware change on your non-Sport PEM. You may have jumped to the wrong conclusion there. The PEMs could have more differences than just firmware.
     
  3. gregd

    gregd Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,357
    Location:
    CM98
    The service center told me that the only difference between the two PEMs is the firmware and the label on top. I've got a 2.0 non-Sport, and in the process of fixing the numerous Power Train fault (1144-type) alarms I ended up with a PEM with a Sport label on it, so I asked. That's what they told me. (Yeah, I'm bummed that it's not a better one too...)

    I recall reading somewhere that the Sport motors have more turns in the coils, presumably using a manual winding process to accomplish that.
     
  4. 7racer

    7racer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    759
    that's what they told me as well for my late (RIP) #1400

    however, the coils were hand wound and from what was told to me, sometimes they would add more. When the service center drove my car, they said it was noticeably different (faster) than any other sport they have had.
     
    • Informative x 1
  5. MLAUTO

    MLAUTO Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    SW Florida
    You're lucky. My 2010 sport motor says "Made in Taiwan", although I'm not sure how much "assembly" takes place in the USA.


     
  6. Stefan T

    Stefan T Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Sweden
    I have base Roadster and a sport motor

    IMGP6921krump.jpg
     
  7. Jonathanm

    Jonathanm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Monaco
    It would seem that I also have a sport motor....if the above information is correct....? IMGP2305.JPG
     
  8. Rotarypower

    Rotarypower Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    My *guess* is that the PEMs are the same other than the sport label. I also would guess that they would only have one set of firmware code. However, the code would key off of the coded VIN number for the car, and simply run a different algorithm for the sport model. If this is the case, that would mean the cars performance is baked into the DNA of the car based on the VIN number.
     
  9. gregd

    gregd Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,357
    Location:
    CM98
    When I got my PEM replaced last year, the one I receive had a Roadster Sport label on it, so I asked. I was told it was the same PEM hardware, but different firmware between the Sport and non-Sport versions (which they took care of at the time of the swap). At the last service, they finally remembered they needed to swap the label, and took care of that too. The 1.5 cars, of course, have different hardware from the 2.x, and no sport version.
     
  10. dhrivnak

    dhrivnak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,580
    Location:
    NE Tennessee
    I am surprised that the PEM is the same between the Sport and non-sport as the non sport is 700 amps while the Sport PEM would deliver 900 amps.
     
  11. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,440
    I heard that the VIN programmed in helps it decide what to do as well. So if the car was purchased as a non-sport...
     
  12. snd92

    snd92 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Location:
    Norway
    I got a PEM with base badges on a Roadster Sport... How to assure if it is programmed as a Sport PEM?
     
  13. dhrivnak

    dhrivnak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,580
    Location:
    NE Tennessee
    Floor it with the VDS in peak mode. If you get 290 ftlbs of torque you have a sport, With 270 ftlbs you have a standard Roadster. Alternatively you can look at the odometer/amps meter and if you peak at at 700 amps you are standard but if you go to 900 amps you have a Sport.

    Just make sure you have a clear road or better yet go to a local drag strip.
     
    • Informative x 1
  14. gregd

    gregd Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,357
    Location:
    CM98
    So, the meter on my standard 2.0 dash pegs at 200kw. That's only 533 amps (at 375 v). How do you get 700 amps (262kw) to the motor? Nobody's complained about bent needles...
     
  15. dhrivnak

    dhrivnak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,580
    Location:
    NE Tennessee
    On the 1.5 the odometer display also shows amps. It is the orangish LCD panel at least on our cars.
     
  16. gregd

    gregd Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,357
    Location:
    CM98
    Ah, forgot about that display. I'm so accustomed to economy ICE cars with speedometers that go to 160mph, that I didn't consider the meter not covering the whole range.
     
  17. snd92

    snd92 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Location:
    Norway
    #17 snd92, Jun 21, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2017
    Thanks :) Found out that my Sport has 700 amp and 264 ftlb. Off to SC to evaluate what to do next...

    Edit: Service tech: All PEMs have the same firmware. Me: Well, the numbers don't lie. Maybe the motor is base version? Service tech: Well how old is your Roadster? Me: That doesn't matter. Are you telling me that an old Sport becomes a Base when it is old?... End of discussion.
     
  18. supersnoop

    supersnoop Tesla Roadster #334

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    Pflugerville
    Did you put it in performance mode? I'm under the impression that 2.x versions need to be in performance mode to squeeze out the last little bit of performance.
     
    • Like x 1
  19. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,440
    At a minimum that isn't true because 1.5's have different firmware from 2.x's, and various Roadsters have different updates applied.
    But it is possible that Sport and Base 2.x could use the same firmware, and just give extra "oomph" if the car's VIN is for a Sport.

    Do you know about red vs white mode on the VDS? You may not get full current if something is too hot at the time.
    Red "Performance" mode versus White "Performance" mode?
     
  20. snd92

    snd92 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Location:
    Norway
    @supersnoop & @TEG: Thanks. I did not put it on performance mode. More testing then... Should I leave it in performance mode for x amount of time to warm up the battery to obtain less internal resistance (just as max battery power for PxxD models?)
     

Share This Page