TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Do I need a garage remote control in order to program homelink?

Discussion in 'Model X: User Interface' started by DuplexDianne, Sep 26, 2016.

  1. DuplexDianne

    DuplexDianne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    We moved into a house that didn't have a garage remote...or we can't find it....either way, just wondering if we need to buy a remote so that we can program the homelink...?? There were only a few tidbits from 2012 when I searched the forums...and it was inconclusive...

    Please enlighten me :)
     
  2. qadaemon

    qadaemon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    Sidney IL, Cape Canaveral FL
    Yes, you need an existing remote to "train" homelink. Depending on the age of your opener, it is a 1 or 2 step process.
     
  3. vandacca

    vandacca ReActive Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3,199
    Location:
    Hamilton
    I don't recall requiring my remote when programming homelink. If I recall correctly, you need to start the homelink pairing process in the vehicle, then when directed, hold down the yellow (on mine) button on the side of the main unit until it flashes. Then the vehicle should take over from there.
     
  4. DuplexDianne

    DuplexDianne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I bought a remote for $30 just in case...will program the keypad first, then try homelink without the remote. If successful I'll return the remote!

    Seems that people have varied experiences with this...
     
  5. travwill

    travwill Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,199
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Yes, just had to do this again. Steps are:

    1. You start the homelink process in car.
    2. You use your existing remote, and press the opener/remote button, holding it until car's lights blink and it learns the signal.
    3. Final process with most openers (rolling code ones) is that you then press the learn/link button on the garage door unit itself, then go back to the car and do the final step which triggers the car's remote signal - thus linking them to the same rolling code.

    -T
     
  6. DuplexDianne

    DuplexDianne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Didn't need the remote...but keeping it with the house, LOL. Was so easy!! Can't believe we took a month to do it...No more texting..."open garage please"
     
    • Like x 1

Share This Page