TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Does basically every owner here use HomeLink?

Discussion in 'Model 3' started by lupend88, Apr 27, 2018.

  1. lupend88

    lupend88 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Portland
    I plan on picking up my Model 3 in a few weeks, and I was doing some research on HomeLink.

    In short, I didn’t realize how easy it was and how compatible it is with basically every garage door system. Am I missing something here? Does it really work with basically every garage door system and is really that easy to set up? I hardly hear anyone talking about it so just wanted to bring it up.
     
  2. dhrivnak

    dhrivnak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,855
    Location:
    NE Tennessee
    All I can really say is that it works with mine, a 18 year old Genie model. :)
     
  3. RyanS

    RyanS Ka-chow

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Elk Grove, Republic of California
    It works with most of garage and gate openers. Especially new ones. You can even program your lights and lamps.
     
  4. SageBrush

    SageBrush 2020: Drain the Sewer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    8,107
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Basically, No
     
  5. spudnik187

    spudnik187 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Works on my garage and gate. Love it.
     
  6. nitzmahone

    nitzmahone Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Yep, use it and love it, though for a number of reasons I disable auto-open and close...
     
    • Like x 1
  7. lupend88

    lupend88 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Portland
    Can you explain why an owner wouldn’t have it (if they have a garage)?
     
  8. gtmotor

    gtmotor Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2018
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Arizona
    Yes, with auto-open only. Only problem is it can only open 3 doors... We have 3 garage doors and one gate so total first world problem.
     
    • Funny x 2
  9. doubleatheman

    doubleatheman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Googled it with the brand of garage opener in my rental, works flawlessly, took me less than 10 minutes to get it working. I too thought it would be harder.
     
  10. lupend88

    lupend88 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Portland
    I was thinking the same thing, what are your reasons?
     
  11. fseir

    fseir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Just be careful using the geofence feature. It almost closed the garage door on my car while I was adjusting my parking. Luckily I noticed it closing in time, and pulled out of the way. There are other threads where some people weren’t as lucky, and ended up with some really unfortunate damage. I’ve since disabled the auto open and auto close feature and will just manually press the “button.”
     
  12. Electroman

    Electroman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    5,603
    Location:
    TX
    I use auto-open and it works great. Garage is almost half open when i get to the beginning of the driveway and I slowly creep to get in as the door opens fully.

    Will never use auto-close. because sometimes you are not sure if it really closed the garage or not when you driving away.
     
  13. cmaster

    cmaster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    United States
    I set the Auto Open/Close to disable because it's annoying coming home and I don't want to enter the garage sometimes.
     
  14. OlderThanDirt

    OlderThanDirt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Two Rivers, WI
    The Tesla is first HomeLink equipped vehicle we've owned that Actually Works as intended.

    If I don't want the door to open or close automatically upon entering or leaving I just touch skip to cancel. The only thing easier would be a neural implant to transmit my intentions. Elon's working on that ;)
     
  15. ShockOnT

    ShockOnT ⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    3,036
    Location:
    Sydney
    Well, it's not availabe in my whole country (Australia). That's pretty much my primary reason :)
     
  16. DriveMe

    DriveMe Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    NE OH
    #16 DriveMe, Apr 28, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2018
    I use HomeLink all the time. Auto-open works perfectly. I don’t trust the auto-close, so I don’t have it enabled. But the manual close works fine for me.

    One thing to keep in mind though: the garage close/open is usually a toggle command. Just like the button on the remote. The car has no way of knowing the current state of the garage door. So if the garage is already open when you arrive, the auto-open will close it instead, unless you press Skip. Not a problem for me as I almost always close the garage door whenever I leave.
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  17. aronth5

    aronth5 Long Time Follower

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,217
    Location:
    Boston Suburb
    I use it every day and it works pretty well.
    For this reason I wish the "Skip" option that displays would stay on the screen longer. Several times when a family member had the garage door open before I arrived home I realized several seconds after getting near the driveway that I didn't want the door to close but didn't react quick enough to the "Skip" button. I suppose in time I'll be better more aware this but there doesn't appear to be any good reason why the skip button couldn't stay displayed right up until the signal was actually sent to the garage door opener.
     
    • Like x 2
  18. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight No Roads

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11,876
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Homelink by license only allows three codes to be stored in any car. That makes sense in every other car where there are three physical buttons. But damn, I really wish the Tesla supported more than three, since it's all just software and data. They could support unlimited Homelink entries if they were just allowed to. I have no idea why Homelink limits the license to just three per vehicle. This year we're selling two houses and buying(bought) a third, so at one point in time, I needed 5 different Homelink buttons, so I had to go back to juggling two remote openers. What a PIA.

    I had to disable auto-open at one house because there's a main road nearby, and sometimes even just driving by my house (and not turning onto the street the house is on) would trigger the Homelink to open the garage. One time I didn't even notice, and when I came back two hours later, my garage door was open, and Homelink closed it. Now I'm glad they added the audio alert so at least I can tell if it's sending the signal.

    Also, sometimes when I'm driving by and go to hit the 'Skip' button, its touch area is pretty small, and if you miss it by just a tiny bit, you actually hit the button to trigger the signal, the exact opposite of what you want. It's not easy hitting 'skip' when driving by in a curve at 35mph.

    We've sold one house, so I'm now back down to three.

    Little known fact -- you can program the Tesla Homelink buttons to trigger any 433mHz remote signal, not just garage doors and gates.
     
  19. NewTMSMan

    NewTMSMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,100
    Location:
    USA
    I am a little amazed people are just discovering HomeLink, it's been around for over 15 years in a lot of cars and works with virtually all garage door openers. I have used it in my cars for over 10 years and have never had any issues with any of them working with multiple garage door openers. If you have an opener that is over 15 years old you may have issues, but other than that it should work (you can also get a bridge if you need one as well).
     
  20. vinnie97

    vinnie97 #WalkAway

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    southwest
    Newb conjecturing here, but does HomeLink require aftermarket installation on the M3?
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC