TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Does everyone have this nav glitch? (favorites distances not changing)

Discussion in 'Model S: Driving Dynamics' started by hingisfan, Mar 10, 2015.

  1. hingisfan

    hingisfan hingisfan_Mark_V

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    764
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    I found this glitch on my car and just wondering if everyone has it...

    When I press Maps > Places ...there are 3 tabs, Favorites, Superchargers, and Recents. SCs and Recents seem to work fine, but when I press favorites the distances from each never change from that point on, no matter how far I travel (towards or away from them). Even if I click away and then back they are stuck on the original distance that they showed when I first pressed the Favorites tab. The other two seem to work fine, and will even update the distances live if I leave the tab open.

    Just wondering if all cars are like this?

    Also, these distances, are they navigated distances, or 'as the the crow flies'? I get the feeling they are straight line and not navigated.
     
  2. iKhalid

    iKhalid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Ajax, ON (for now)

    I have to check my car next time I drive to be able to tell regarding to your first question.

    Regarding your second question, the distance you see are straight line distances. There is no way the car could tell the navigated distances unless it actually navigates and calculates the actual driving distance.
     
  3. LetsGoFast

    LetsGoFast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,342
    Location:
    Virginia
    I just tested this on my lunch break and can confirm your findings. I tried various things to see if they would reset the distance, like choosing a different nav destination and so on and the only thing I could find that forces it to recalculate is shifting into park. Based on how the Supercharger tab works, I'd call this a bug.
     
  4. iKhalid

    iKhalid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Ajax, ON (for now)
    Just tested it and confirmed as well.
     
  5. NSX1992

    NSX1992 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Thousand Oaks,CA
    When I look at Supercharger locations it turns out that the actual navigated distance is considerably longer than indicated.
     
  6. iadbound

    iadbound Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    No. VA
    I noticed this once as well.
     
  7. trils0n

    trils0n 2013 P85

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,296
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    The distance displayed is as-the-crow-flies. It doesn't know the actual distance until it calculates a route.
     
  8. hingisfan

    hingisfan hingisfan_Mark_V

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    764
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario


    Good to know. I dont have tech so I have to remember not to think of those as the distance remaining on my trip.
     
  9. Cyclone

    Cyclone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,398
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    That is something that irks me about many SatNav systems nowadays. Is it really that hard to do an estimated trip to provide a more reasonable estimate on distance or travel time? None of my current systems do that, but about seven years ago, my cheap windshield unit did that for waypoints. Not the same as here from a standstill, but probably programmatically similar. When on a route and asked about waypoints, it did NOT give a distance and time "as the crow flies", but distance and time from your current route. So even if something was 1 mile behind me on the interstate, it would include time to go to the next exit, circle around, and travel back -- so it showed up as 4 miles or whatever from me even though it's only 1 as the crow flies. Made things much easier when searching for gas stations or restaurants as every other SatNav we've had, we have to use mental cycles to calculate which waypoint is more efficient to go to, which may not necessarily be the shortest listed distance one. It would be great if the Nav system in the Tesla assumed the default recommended route between your current location and the waypoint in its distance/time estimations. But then again, there are many things that would improve the Tesla Nav system like allow for a route through a waypoint in the first place! Ok, off my soapbox.
     
  10. LetsGoFast

    LetsGoFast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,342
    Location:
    Virginia
    This is now fixed as of 2.4.188 (it might have been corrected earlier, I forgot about until today).
     
  11. cpa

    cpa Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Location:
    Central Valley
    Yes, this is particularly irksome for us in California who want to travel east. When the Bishop Supercharger becomes a reality, Bishop is a mere 90-some miles from our house as the crow flies. However, there is this giant rock between us and the Eastern State, so the real route (especially during winter) is something like 240 miles when Tioga Road is open and 350 miles otherwise.

    There must be a better solution for this software!
     
  12. Cyclone

    Cyclone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,398
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    That's why I feel that search results and waypoints should be listed based on the default route. This will only be an estimate and you could take a very different route, but it would be MUCH closer to a worthwhile estimate than "as the crow flies", even when the default route is inefficient and you would take a different route.
     

Share This Page