TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Does the Model S handle the Seattle rain well?

Discussion in 'Northwest' started by Icesis, Aug 3, 2014.

1. Icesis

Icesis Member

Can anyone attest to theTesla's drivability on the wet rain soaked Seattle streets? My family and I receive ours late Sept, just in time f

2. romp

romp Member

Depends on the tires, as any other car. While it's easy to push it so the traction control kicks in on wet roads, the same is true for most powerful ICE's. However, Model S has a big advantage of its very low inertia drivetrain (no engine to speak of, no gearbox, no driveshaft, etc.), so traction control is quicker than in any ICE I've driven so far.

3. ACDriveMotor

ACDriveMotor Member

I had no problems with mine and I am a spirited driver. Note I have 19 wheels with stock tires. same as any other car in Seattle. Better with TC in fact.

4. dsm363

dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

No issues. Tires make all the difference of course.

5. PhilBa

PhilBa Active Member

The MS weighs 4700 lbs, it sticks to the road. Traction control works well.

6. MiddKid

MiddKid Member

Took delivery in March...no lack of rain and I was in that "floor it at every stop" phase (wait...I'm still doing that 5 months later). I was incredibly surprised how few times the wheels lost traction. It was really rock solid. Stock 19" wheels on my P85.

7. SeattleSid

SeattleSid Member

Same experience: a few drenching rains, no issues. I have the Michelin Primacy 19" tires.

8. Blurry_Eyed

Blurry_Eyed MS Sig #267, MX Sig # 761