TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Does your AP1 read speed signs?

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Larry Hutchinson, Aug 6, 2018.

  1. Larry Hutchinson

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    I keep hearing about AP1 cars reading speed signs. But my facelift AP1 MS car has not done so for a long time. It clearly uses goofed up gps and no longer changes right at the sign and is often way wrong.

    At least it gets speeds in places where there are no signs.

    I can’t imagine there is anything special about my car. It is up to date on firmware.

    Any one else?
     
  2. TexasTeslaRacing

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    North Dallas, Texas
    Yes it did. 2015 P85D
     
  3. P85_DA

    P85_DA Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    2,559
    Location:
    Chula Vista, CA
    AP1 reads stop signs unless the software changed to the lame database that AP2.x uses
     
    • Like x 1
    • Disagree x 1
  4. S4WRXTTCS

    S4WRXTTCS Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    Yep, Occasionally it even reads them correctly. :p
     
    • Funny x 3
  5. f-stop

    f-stop Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,139
    Location:
    Vancouver BC, Canada
    yes, no problem here with mine reading the speed signs. AP1, pre-refresh
     
    • Like x 2
  6. whitex

    whitex Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    3,067
    Location:
    Seattle area, WA
    Last I paid attention, which IIRC was about a month and half ago, it still worked on my AP1 car. My wife told me at that time that her AP2 shows an incorrect speed limit on a highway which had it reduced a few months ago (which was what prompted me to check that AP1 showed the correct speed limit after reading the signs).AP1 showed the correct speed, AP2 the old one. So, parity my ***.
     
  7. RDoc

    RDoc S85D

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,145
    Location:
    Boston North Shore
    yes, not stop signs
     
  8. Az_Rael

    Az_Rael Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    3,595
    Location:
    Palmdale, CA
    We have an AP1 Model S and my AP2 Model 3 and drive both on the same commute which includes a 20 mile long section on a private road (so, not in the map databases). AP1 reads the signs correctly as 65mph, but doesn't know what the limit is until it hits the first sign. AP2 thinks the limit is 45mph all the way through.

    I am tracking this one very closely, as fixing this issue will allow me to use AP on half of my commute on a perfect AP road. It was one of my unexpected surprises when getting the AP2 car.
     
  9. dark cloud

    dark cloud Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2018
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    BC
    I would say 95% of the time it does it correctly. I have been in a 100 km/h zone and the dash stated it was 30km/h, yet my cruise was set to 110 and happy to keep me at that speed.

    I am amazed at how it won't change the speed when it sees this:
    images-1.png

    but it changes when it sees this:

    Unknown.jpeg
    So AP1 is able to distinguish the arrow? or does it wait until 2 signs have passed?

    Technically using AP1 you could get a ticket, because at the second sign you should be doing 50 but this is when AP1 starts to slow down, so you may be going 70 a hundred feet after the sign if you were travelling at 100 for example before the speed change.
     
  10. Larry Hutchinson

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Odd. Not exactly a landslide of me too’s (not that I was expecting one, given so many claims that AP1 reads speed signs.)

    Perhaps it would be useful to report your build date. Mine is June 2016.

    Perhaps I am in a no-persons land between AP1 and AP2.
     
  11. thimel

    thimel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    470
    Mine reads speed limit signs with high accuracy.
     
  12. eschummer

    eschummer Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Hmm...late AP1 build here. I really don't think it actually "reads" the signs. It acts like there is a data base it gets its data from and when things change (as in construction, etc.) it loses its accuracy.
     
    • Disagree x 1
  13. unbelievable

    unbelievable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    193
    Location:
    London
    I know it's not ideal, but why don't you engage AP and then bump the stalk upwards 4 times increasing the speed to 65? Large bump +5mph, little bump +1mph.
     
  14. bmah

    bmah Moderator, Model S / Model X Forums

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    2,031
    Location:
    Lafayette, CA, USA
    It's really hard for us to make definitive statements about this, because it's not like the car says, "Hey I saw a speed limit sign!" All I can say is that my S85D's behavior is consistent with being able to read signs with a high degree of accuracy. I notice the speed limit on the IC change just as I pass the speed limit sign...whenever I pay attention to the IC, it seems to be doing this correctly.

    I remember the behavior on the 6.2 firmware being somewhat different (this was with AP1 hardware, but before we had autosteer functionality). Remember the huge speedo on the original IC? There used to be an indication when the car read a speed limit sign, but before you reached the sign for it to take effect...it was one of several tick marks around on the speedo. It was easier to see what was going on with the speed limit detection then. I was a little disappointed that with the 7.0 IC, you didn't get that preview anymore.

    Bruce.
     
    • Funny x 1
  15. mkinsocal

    mkinsocal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    So Cal
    Mine seems to do a little of both (April 2016). There are times where I pass a sign and it immediately changes. There are times where I pass a school zone sign and it drops it to 25 (annoying when school is not in session). There are times I pass a school sign and it does nothing. There are times when I pass the same school sign and it goes to 50 (actual speed limit is 45, but it **used** to be 50 -- makes me think old database. ????? And there are times when it just randomly picks the wrong speed limit with no sign in site. Happened a ton on our road trip through Wyoming -- Would pass 80 MPH speed limit, which it would read, then about 2 miles later it would drop it to 70. So it seems to read signs, misread signs, and also just has a mind of its own.
     
  16. whitex

    whitex Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    3,067
    Location:
    Seattle area, WA
    If you really want to know and are willing to put in the time to find out, drive by a speed sign, watch the speed limit change as you drive right by it. Then park, cover the AP camera (cover it with some painter's tape, something you can easily peel off after), drive by the same speed sign. Compare results with a few signs.
     
    • Like x 2
  17. Az_Rael

    Az_Rael Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    3,595
    Location:
    Palmdale, CA
    Sadly, that doesn’t work. AP2 is limited to 50mph on that road because it isn’t classified as a highway in the database. AP1 is cool since it knows the speed limit.
     
    • Informative x 1
  18. kavyboy

    kavyboy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Spring, TX
    #18 kavyboy, Aug 7, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2018
    It definitely reads speed signs in AP1. I haven't done the last update, however. I know it reads the signs because some Highway 40 signs will set the speed to 40 MPH although the actual limit is much higher. It's a long, flat, straight, isolated section of road where the limit would never have been that low. As soon as I pass a route sign, the max speed drops. As soon as I pass a speed limit sign, the max speed changes again.
    It also uses a speed database, but obviously the signs take precedence.
    It would be interesting to know, given what OP is saying, if the latest firmware has removed sign recognition.
     
    • Like x 2
  19. Struja

    Struja "Fanboy"

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    635
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I was about 2 hours north of Toronto in cottage country this weekend with my AP1 refresh Model S and it was reading all signs perfectly. I was taking some pretty obscure roads and I was amazed at the accuracy. Boy would I ever hate if an update changed how it work (the way the recent updates increased the nag).
     
  20. Xenius

    Xenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Havertown, PA
    Our AP1 reads them pretty reliably. Unfortunately it can't distinguish the "school hours" part of the 15mph one near me.
     
    • Like x 1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC