Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Domestic 3 pin plug in question

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I take delivery of my new pride and joy tomorrow and just had a thought....

Until I get a home charger fitted by an electrician, hopefully in the next few weeks, I simply assumed I could plug in to a domestic 3 pin plug in the garage to top up each night (I can charge at work).

The consumer unit is a few years old and I’m now wondering whether it can take the load ok (I’m not an electrician!). Consumer unit says 80A max load and has some old looking breakers. See pic

If any of you have any idea what to check or if you could point me in the direction of any uk relevant threads I may not have spotted it would be appreciated.

Cheers

Attachments

• DAD4F990-7DBF-4E5A-BC1E-69F0470D3D4B.jpeg
    DAD4F990-7DBF-4E5A-BC1E-69F0470D3D4B.jpeg
    62.7 KB · Views: 128
I’m now wondering whether it can take the load ok

You can, manually, reduce the "power grab" on the dashboard, so if it trips, or plug gets hot, then just "de-tuning it" should be fine.

Long-ish (decent quality, and "not skinny" :) ) extension lead, which you might otherwise need when staying with friends?, to a "newer / nearer the distribution board" socket might be worthwhile, if you have a problem. (There's a [extension lead] thread which I can find for you if you need it)

OK, seen the photo now ... so "trips" will be "replace fuse wire" I suppose :)

Hi yes just use the tesla UMC which comes with the car to plug in directly into a 3 pin socket. Don't use any type of normal extension cords or reels they won't be able to manage the heat and will be dangerous. You can buy purpose-built adaptors and extension leads from here: Xavelec - Charging cables and adaptors for your Tesla EV UMC