Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Driving in reverse makes GPS position wrong

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Has anyone else noticed this? If you reverse for any significant distance (e.g. backing out of a long driveway), the GPS position will not update while you're in reverse, so then it's off by that amount for 10-15 minutes until it gradually drifts back to the right place as you drive. This is usually just a minor annoyance, but if you're in an unfamiliar area and relying on directions, it can be a problem if the wrong position is on another street. It also messes up TeslaFi records.

This is in a Model S with 2018.14.2 a88808e.

I did search for this topic but let me know if there's already a thread on this. Thanks.

• Helpful
Reactions: FlyF4
Hi Peter, I have been complaing to Tesla about this problem for over two years. Escalated it to executive resolution and all I get is a song and dance that they are working on it.RIGHT! My problem manifests slightly different. When I drive backwards the map icon moves forward screwing up the location by about 2.5 feet per 1 foot backed up. Exactly what you describe happened to me. I had to back up a very long driveway and the navigation was totally useless. It works correctly once right after a firmware update.

• Informative
Reactions: Peter_M
Here is what I do. Set the map to full magnification. Put the car in reverse, touch the screen to close the rear camera and back up. I'm pretty sure that the icon will move forward.
Most people wouldn't see this because it's only visible at full magnification of the map. I also see the icon slowly drift back to the correct position as I drive forward.
This problem also will affect garage door auto close. The car ends up 300 feet in the field behind me and autoclose does not work.
I'm going to email Tesla again.