Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

EAP and Trucks

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi -
I am new to all this so if this has been answered please point me in the right direction. Am a new Model 3 owner (picked it up in Chicago on 6/18). Do any of you experience this when you pass a truck with Auto Steer functioning: you are in the left lane and as get close to the truck the car appears to move just a bit to the truck than feels natural. I always keep my hands at 10 & 2 and hold them steady. About half the time the car will go out of Auto Steer. This could be my imagination - maybe I naturally steer a little left when I pass trucks and Auto Steer wants to stay in the middle of the lane - but I swear it drifts to the right. Any thoughts??

Search in the Model S forum for "truck lust." It does seem to be a somewhat common experience people have. My theory why it does this is the aerodynamics when approaching and then alongside the truck are disrupted and creates a slightly lower pressure zone between the two which draws the vehicle to the right. The slight swerving must be within lane holding tolerance and AP does not decide correction is needed. Could be totally wrong, but seems plausible explanation to me anyway.

In the old days, AP used to have a significant problem with this. These days, my AP1 tends to push away from the truck some in the lane. I haven't seen it steer in towards one in months, but YMMV and as you suggested, maybe it isn't steering out as far as you would.