TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Easy way to bypass new AP speed limit restriction

Discussion in 'Autonomous Vehicles' started by DadoP90DL, Dec 25, 2016.

  1. DadoP90DL

    DadoP90DL Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I found a simple way to bypass the restriction. For my Canadian friends change the units to MPH and set AP to any speed you like. Have fun.
    I believe same is true for the Americans but I have not tried it yet, since I am in Canada for a week. Change the units to KPH. Then adjust the speed to anything you like.
     
    • Informative x 3
    • Funny x 1
  2. Gwgan

    Gwgan Almost a wagon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,586
    Location:
    Maine
    #2 Gwgan, Dec 26, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2016
    What firmware version do you have? S or X? MX 2.44.121 still limited when mph changed to km.
     
  3. DadoP90DL

    DadoP90DL Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I have model X 2.50.143
     
  4. DadoP90DL

    DadoP90DL Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Correction it's 2.50.114
     
  5. Redmiata98

    Redmiata98 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Sorry, if you do that in the US, the 60 sign would result in slow down to 37!
     
  6. ecarfan

    ecarfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    13,610
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    As @Redmiata98 points out, that likely will not work.

    But I am skeptical that it will work in Canada either. The car may be smarter than you think and display in mph when you set it to do so but "think" in kph.

    Give it a try and let us know...
     
  7. DadoP90DL

    DadoP90DL Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    That does not matter you can simply raise the speed limit on the AP to any desired speed. Try it it works.
     
  8. DadoP90DL

    DadoP90DL Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    It works fine here in Canada. 50KPH speed limit. I change my units to MPH and set any desired speed up to 90MPH.
    I will post a video as soon as I get a chance. Right now it is snowing hard so the AP is not working at all.
     
  9. Sonny Daze

    Sonny Daze Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    871
    Location:
    DC
    Is that TACC only or TACC and Autosteer? Someone's going to ask. ;)
     
  10. DadoP90DL

    DadoP90DL Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Good question. It's both TACC and autosteer.
     
  11. FlatSix911

    FlatSix911 918 Hybrid

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,047
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Well done ... so how long before Tesla sends a software patch? :cool:
     
  12. DadoP90DL

    DadoP90DL Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    We have to delete this thread before Tesla finds out :)
     
  13. flying_things

    flying_things Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    california
    It's definitely a software bug!
     
  14. DadoP90DL

    DadoP90DL Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Have you tried it?
     
  15. muleferg

    muleferg Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    North Wilkesboro, NC
    It real. will go up to +30

    IMG_0744.JPG
     
    • Informative x 1
  16. bro1999

    bro1999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,088
    Location:
    Maryland
    Better wipe this thread before Tesla sees it! haha
    Or make a secret thread.

    "First rule about Autopilot speed limit bypass club is....don't talk about Autopilot speed limit bypass club". :p
     
    • Funny x 2
  17. SabrToothSqrl

    SabrToothSqrl Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    2,034
    Location:
    PA
    But officer, I was only doing 60!
     
  18. Gwgan

    Gwgan Almost a wagon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,586
    Location:
    Maine
    Has anyone besides DadoP90DL actually experienced this bug? Being able to set the offset higher a la muleferg doesn’t mean the “restricted” popup will not appear in practice.
     
  19. st50maint

    st50maint Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    New York
    I tried this on a road with a 30 MPH limit.
    My car normally limits me to 30 MPH while in autopilot.
    When set to kilometers, it limits me to 30 KPH or about 18 MPH.
     
    • Informative x 2
  20. Gwgan

    Gwgan Almost a wagon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,586
    Location:
    Maine
    Thanks for checking. This is not the bug I was hoping for.
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Funny x 1

Share This Page