TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Electrical access from cabin to frunk

Discussion in 'Model S' started by jjchan, Sep 6, 2014.

  1. jjchan

    jjchan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    I want to install a Blackvue dash cam behind the rearview mirror and run the wire from the A-pillar to the frunk, where I can connect it to the fuse-box. Can someone who has done it before help with some directions.
     
  2. mmh

    mmh Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    SLC
    I installed a Blackvue myself recently. My car (June 2014 production) had the extra (unused) 12v always-on power connector in the area of the roof where the microphones are. To remove the panel, just push it towards the windshield and pull down.

    Images:
    IMG_6094.JPG

    IMG_6095.JPG

    IMG_6096.JPG

    IMG_6097.JPG
     
  3. jjchan

    jjchan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    @mmh: I'm having problem identifying the plug on the 3rd photo. I'm picking up my P85 next Wed 10. I'll definitely open that compartment to see if I have a unused plug. Please post some pic of that plug.
     
  4. jjchan

    jjchan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    Could you also describe how you make the connection in the compartment. Thanks

    - - - Updated - - -

    A clearer picture of the connector will really help.
     
  5. mmh

    mmh Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    SLC
    Take two pins off this (Break Away Headers - Straight - PRT-00116 - SparkFun Electronics) and solder them to the ends of the blackvue power cable.
    Then plug black into black and plug red into blue-red.
    Doing it this way means you don't have to cut into the cars wiring and can remove the camera easily if ever needed.
     
  6. ABVA

    ABVA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    234
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    In newer models that connection most likely is not available. However, to gain access to the fuse box in Frunk from cabin you want to review the "Lighted T installation instructions" at:

    Tesla Model S Lighted T Installation Instructions - TESLARATI.com

    specifically instructions for installing the diode in the cabin which mimics the behavior of Lighted T. It is almost towards the end of instructions, just before the video.
     
  7. mmh

    mmh Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    SLC
    I've seen people saying that since before 2014 on these forums. Yet my car a June-2014 has the connector. I think that connector's existence might depend on another variable like the tech-package.
     
  8. ABVA

    ABVA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    234
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Mine is Nov. 2013 with Tech Package but no extra connection in the mike area. It is great that you have it, makes life a whole lot easier. I do have Dual Channel INAVI FXD900 with power sourced from the fuse box in Frunk.
     
  9. mmh

    mmh Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    SLC
    Yeah, that's so odd. I wonder why some cars have it and not others. If you want to compare, my load-out is:
    P44490 S85, Panoramic, Tech, Folding Mirrors, Fog, Air Suspension, Performance Seats, Interior Lighting, Parking Sensors, Ultra High Fidelity Sound, Dual Chargers, Subzero Weather

    Looks like the only real difference between our cars is possibly the dual chargers and/or subzero weather.
     
  10. ABVA

    ABVA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    234
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Hello jjchan,
    please let us know if we were helpful? (Mmh & myself)
     
  11. Gizmotoy

    Gizmotoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3,155
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    They may have removed it from the standard build and added it back in recently. They're working on all kinds of driver assist stuff, supposedly, so maybe there's plans to add something up there eventually.
     
  12. JPP

    JPP Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,845
    Location:
    SF Bay area, CA

Share This Page