TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Elon Speaks to Concerns About Sustainability of EV Adoption

Discussion in 'Video' started by SteveG3, Jan 3, 2014.

1. SteveG3

SteveG3 Active Member

#1 SteveG3, Jan 3, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 13, 2016
  2. bonaire

bonaire Active Member

The math to do is:
    - how much oil-based fuel is burned per day in terms of BTUs
    - how much electricity generation is done today burning NG, Nuclear, Oil, coal
    add all that up.

Then add up the renewables generation. And then compare.

I am an EV driver and Solar PV owner. I also see that the energy released by burning fossil fuels and nuclear is so enormous that it may take 100 years to make the transition - which is also about the time that oil reserves will just about be running out. Fire up the Solar PV factories and large-scale energy storage factories. We're gonna need it. Carpool-anyone? :)

3. ItsNotAboutTheMoney

ItsNotAboutTheMoney Active Member

I always enjoy his clarity of thinking. Physics sets limits, engineering reaches them, business finds a way to pay for the engineering.

4. AmpedUP

AmpedUP EV Nut

It's all very straightforward, just as Elon notes in this clip. This is an unstoppable train, and it's great to be in the forward cars as this journey unfolds.

5. Canuck

Canuck Active Member

Unfortunately, the train may be stoppable. As a species, we are not all nearly as bright as Elon Musk. What makes the most sense, and is in our collective best interest, rarely wins out. The greed of the very few has repeatedly shown to trump everything else. In my view, as a society, we are circling the drain. I sure hope I'm proven wrong but I won't be around to find out.

6. MarkR

MarkR Member