TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Engineering Car?

Discussion in 'Autonomous Vehicles' started by J1mbo, Apr 7, 2018.

  1. J1mbo

    J1mbo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Location:
    UK
    Yvette on Twitter

    IMG_20180407_215141.jpg

    Lots of goodies to see here!

    Looks like the "augmented" view shows boxes around objects from the 3 active cams. Also, an FSD menu!
     
    • Informative x 7
    • Like x 6
    • Funny x 1
    • Love x 1
  2. zmarty

    zmarty Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Kirkland, WA
    Thanks for saving the image, since it's already gone from Twitter.

    It seems the augmented vision does not detect the Stop sign.
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
    • Funny x 1
  3. PhaseWhite

    PhaseWhite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Minneapolis,MN
    @J1mbo
    Since the twitter page is taken down was there any other context you could add here around what was in the post?
     
  4. S4WRXTTCS

    S4WRXTTCS Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,052
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    I wonder if the new MCU might be needed.

    To display live video from all three cams.
     
  5. kvandivo

    kvandivo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Downstate Illinois
    I'm just speculating here, because I don't have enough tesla history to know for sure, but that looks like an alcantara dash, and I don't think they do this now, so it likely isn't the new MCU.
     
    • Like x 4
    • Informative x 2
    • Helpful x 1
  6. S4WRXTTCS

    S4WRXTTCS Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,052
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    If it's an Engineering car then it might have been upgraded to the new MCU.

    Where I work we have all kinds of weird mixes of vintages. Just whatever us engineers could get our hands on. :)
     
    • Like x 2
  7. Padelford

    Padelford Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Seattle
    Recall that Elon promised us that we’d get access to the cameras so that they could be used as “dash cams”. Maybe this is a hint of upcoming goodies?

    I hope we get to plug in a USB memory stick into one of the USB ports so that we can save the image data.
     
    • Like x 2
  8. J1mbo

    J1mbo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Location:
    UK
    From memory, she said that she was driving an engineering car and that "the car deciding to change lanes for you is neat and weird but definitely neat"
     
    • Informative x 4
    • Like x 3
    • Helpful x 1
  9. J1mbo

    J1mbo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Location:
    UK
    Looking closer, the blue boxes are not bounding boxes - they are more like radar returns.

    Curious to know what the red boxes are in Narrow and Main.. labels?

    Has anyone with root (@BigD0g?) had a play with this?
     
    • Informative x 1
  10. BigD0g

    BigD0g Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    Somewhere
    I think @verygreen had this working long ago on his old X, but in later builds they quickly realized there screw up. This requires a dev build of the firmware and a rooted ape I suspect, so sadly I’m useless on this one, but I’d love to see what else they posted before they deleted.
     
    • Like x 1
  11. BigD0g

    BigD0g Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Btw, there’s really no reason the new MCU is needed for this, it’s just a video feed, the APE does all the work and magic.
     
  12. lunitiks

    lunitiks ˭ ˭ ʽʽʽʽʽʽʽʽʽ ʭ ʼʼʼʼʼʼʼʼʼ ˭ ˭

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2,414
    Location:
    Prawn Island, VC
    Someone needs to check this setting
    Augmented.jpg
     
    • Funny x 5
  13. BigD0g

    BigD0g Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #13 BigD0g, Apr 8, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2018
    I’m more interested in augmented vision, I rather see what it seems to see and where they are at with recognition , I already know they can’t FSD worth crap. I rather see how far away it is, lol ;)
     
    • Funny x 4
  14. Krash

    Krash Data Technician

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    992
    Location:
    Intermountain US
    I have a hunch Yvette isn't going to be getting as many engineering rides anymore.
     
    • Funny x 7
    • Informative x 1
  15. BigD0g

    BigD0g Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    Somewhere
    So, true! I also wonder which developer lost there car privileges.
     
  16. doubleohwhat

    doubleohwhat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    Alabama
    I'd be freaking thrilled if AP2/2.5 could just read speed limit signs like AP1. We took a trip this past weekend and the speed limit displayed in the car was wrong at least 50% of the time if not more.
     
    • Like x 1
  17. croman

    croman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    3,192
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Be careful what you wish for. I had an AP1 loaner and kept reading the wrong signs or not understanding about minimum limits vs. max. It was way more frustrating than AP2 being blissfully ignorant. It sucks when there are state limits like NY and the database is empty and you're limited to 45mph on a rural road. Its a lot worse to be stuck at 55+5 when traffic actually is going 75mph+.

    Though I'm sure both have their flaws and we'll find reason to complain.
     
    • Like x 1
  18. dgatwood

    dgatwood Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, ca
    Agreed. That said, if you find wrong speed limits, you should report them to TomTom via their MapShare tool. (I've tried doing a Tesla bug report, but they don't seem to be passing these reports on.)
     
  19. Pale_Rider

    Pale_Rider Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I’ve tried reporting to TomTom since Tesla switched and they eventually delete my suggestions and next update the database. I’ve tried attaching pictures and GPS data and they still never update them... Some are off so much it’s ridiculous. 55 in 25’s, 45 in a 70, things like that.
     
    • Informative x 3
  20. rnortman

    rnortman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Earth
    I've been on a hunt for any evidence that the bug report command in the car does anything at all. Anybody ever gotten any response to it? Has a service tech ever been able to manually pull logs and see when you even pressed the button? In the past couple of years I mean. I think originally it probably did something, back when there were only a few thousand cars on the road.
     
    • Like x 1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC