Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Error Message Panic and next steps

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

hmbprius

Supporting Member
Hi helpful folks out there in the community...have been enjoying my little blue baby... did a couple of long trips and maybe after range charging seemed to have a bit longer range for a bit, then it seems to have drifted down but still reasonable. Loving driving this car.

BUT THEN day before yesterday had a shortish drive (40 miles) still had like 120 miles ideal range left, came home, plugged her in, the next morning when I unplugged and was going to run out to store, I had an error message:
"SWP: APS off, but no pulse from BPS" (code 420). So I had absolute newbie panic, went straight to this site. Didn't find much on this site or by google search, so went out and plugged in thinking maybe I should try storage or another charge mode. Went back to computer and found out some translation for the alphabet soup: "BPS backup power supply, SWP switchpack, APS auxiliary power supply".

Okay, now I am really panicking, that error sounds very serious...found the one thread were a similar message (and others) on a wreck was basis for like a complete over hall...so I go out to check on car, and talk to her in her pain (and my panic), and bring 2gb flash drive to download vehicle log. Do that (have to unplug) and " say, okay maybe if a do a range charge it will reset". So while I head inside to try to do the parsing translation and graphical parser, she (my blue baby) is on range charge. SO I read the tar in csv and graphics and (OH NO) at the very bottom it has "sync fail" and data stopped on the download on AUg 15 (its now sep 9). So don't have any seemingly helpful data. (and no, I have been researching but haven't done OVMS yet).