TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

[EU] Powerwall and 3-phase 400VAC

Discussion in 'Tesla Energy' started by widodh, Oct 9, 2017.

Tags:
  1. widodh

    widodh Model S 85kWh

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5,241
    Location:
    Middelburg, The Netherlands
    I am looking into building a new house and looking into installing one or two Powerwalls as a backup power source combined with about 15kWp of PV on the roof.

    It however seems that all solutions for the Powerwall are 1-phase and in the Netherlands/Europe the whole grid is 3-phase 400VAC.

    Does anybody know if the Powerwall works with 3-phase installations?
     
  2. wycolo

    wycolo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,657
    Location:
    WY
    > in the Netherlands/Europe the whole grid is 3-phase 400VAC.

    Does this actually extend into residential neighborhoods and/or into each house? Or do they only bring that into commercial buildings like they do in North America?
    --
     
  3. widodh

    widodh Model S 85kWh

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5,241
    Location:
    Middelburg, The Netherlands
    Extends into the house. My current house as 3x25A 400VAC and runs on that.

    Every house in the Netherlands (with a few exceptions) has 3-phase 400VAC into each house.

    Very, very, very common in Europe, not only NL.

    My Model S charges at 3-phase 3x16A 11kW 400VAC at my house.
     
  4. wycolo

    wycolo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,657
    Location:
    WY
    > 3x25A 400VAC

    Pure envy . :cool:
    --
     
  5. widodh

    widodh Model S 85kWh

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5,241
    Location:
    Middelburg, The Netherlands
    Understandable ;)

    However, does anybody know if there are Powerwall solutions out there to support this?

    It seems that a Powerwall comes in a AC (with inverter) and DC-only version (without inverter).

    Any DC -> AC inverter which can handle 400V should work right? Multiple powerwalls in parallel and then run them through the inverter which turns it into 400VAC.
     
  6. smithy2167

    smithy2167 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Australia
    Here in Australia, some houses have 3-phase power. Here, it's 415V which is the phase to phase voltage (at 3 x 90A in our house!). However, apart from 3-phase equipment such as large Aircons, the household circuits are wired from phase to neutral which gives 230V.

    We have 10.5kW of PV with a Fronius Symo 10kW 3-phase inverter. We also have a Powerwall 2 AC hooked up to one phase (230V). There is also a 3-phase Gateway that contains a contactor for the backup circuit and also connections for the metering Current Transformers (CT). All 3 phases are monitored by the PW2 with the aim of minimising the net consumption from the grid.

    Our power supply companies use net meters that sum the consumption/feed-in from all 3 phases and only charge for the net total. So, if say one phase is drawing 2kW, another phase 3kW and the 3rd phase with the PW2 is feeding back 4kW, the net consumption that would be charged is 1kW.

    You could also theoretically have three PW2 - one per phase. However, I don't think Tesla have got this setup working properly yet.
     
  7. widodh

    widodh Model S 85kWh

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5,241
    Location:
    Middelburg, The Netherlands
    Interesting! But does the PW also function as a backup when the power fails? And if it does, it only supplies to one phase, correct?

    So 2/3rd of the equipment doesn't work because the power is out on their phase.

    And I assume you have the AC version of the Powerwall with the inverter build in?

    I found the StorEdge product of SolarEdge: StorEdge™ | SolarEdge

    That uses the DC version of the Powerwall, but it's 1-phase only.
     
  8. smithy2167

    smithy2167 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Australia
    That's right. It only backs up one phase. I had the switchboard re-arranged so the important things (for me) are all on that phase.

    We only get the AC version in Aus. In fact, I thought the DC version was only available in the US.

    I'm not familiar with the SolarEdge. I know that the Fronius Symo Hybrid provides a full 3-phase solution, but currently only supports the Fronius batteries. I was looking closely at that when the DC version of the PW2 was planned, but then that was dropped ...
     
  9. fren

    fren Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    france
    in France we have 220/240v single phase
    the 3 phase is for electricity contract for >12kwh i think and still 220/240v ( except for some industry companies of course)
    edit : solaredge is for powerwall 1 , not pw2
    i have solaredge , thought i could plug a pw with storedge .. then pw2 came :p
    now waiting ...hmmm march maybe if lucky to get a pw2
     
  10. widodh

    widodh Model S 85kWh

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5,241
    Location:
    Middelburg, The Netherlands
    #10 widodh, Oct 10, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2017
    I contacted SolarEdge and they say their StorEdge product will support 3-phase/400VAC at the end of 2018.

    I hope we will have a DC Powerwall 2 (3?) by then so that I can have about 30kWh of backup power at my yet-to-build home.

    I also just got a call from Tesla in Amsterdam and they told me that in 2018 they will also launch a 3-phase Powerwall. They are working at it right now for the European 3-phase market.
     
    • Informative x 1
  11. Murbs

    Murbs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    I reserved 3 Powerwalls last year and have just had a site visit. Installation not due till Q1 2018 (Tesla time :rolleyes:). It would be wonderful to think that Tesla will bring out a three phase version of the Powerwall (they could call it PW2.3) before my units finally arrive.
    Are you sure the gateway is three phase or is it just their standard single phase gateway?
     
  12. widodh

    widodh Model S 85kWh

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5,241
    Location:
    Middelburg, The Netherlands
    I can't answer your last question as I don't know.

    The Tesla rep told me that they are working on a EU-specific version of the PW which has a 3-phase inverter to connect to the grid. I don't have any more details.
     

Share This Page