TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

European Model S dashcam power source?

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Siggy101, Aug 9, 2017.

  1. Siggy101

    Siggy101 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Geneva, Switzerland
    Hi all,
    I live in Switzerland and have a 2017 Model S 90D.
    I was intending to fit a BlackVue dashcam but all of the installation videos show you guys plugging in to a 'spare' power connector that is sitting behind the grill in roof above the rear view mirror.
    Here in Europe, that plug is in use. I believe it is supplying power to a pair of ultrasonic sensors for the alarm (I might be wrong but I think that's what they are). The grill is not a grill but is actually a plate housing the 2 sensors.

    Has anyone in Europe done a DIY install and found a clean and non-invasive way to get always-on power for a dashcam? I will not be cutting/splicing etc and really don't fancy routing a wire up from miles away if possible.
     
  2. JPP

    JPP Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,068
    Can't you just tap into the 12V in the grille area where your EU intrusion sensor is located? BlackVue has very little power draw. Would be a clean install. FWIW here in the US when I installed our 2 BlackVues, I found the unused connector, but instead of finding a mating male connector to splice into, I just striped the BlackVue power cable, tinned the ends of the black & white wires, figured out the corresponding +12v and ground on the female connector, popped open the connector, laid the bare wires on the pins, and snapped it closed. Nice and neat, and the connector was/is still available.
     
  3. James*

    James* Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
  4. Siggy101

    Siggy101 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Geneva, Switzerland
    Sadly James, it's not that connector. It's a bit more bulky and I've not seen one before. As with most car connectors, it has a locking tab to stop it sliding apart with time and/or vibration.

    Thanks the sharing your experience JPP. Knowing that you were able to open the existing connector and add the tinned power cables for the Blackvue gives me hope.
    I would be quite comfortable to do the same and then reconnect the alarm power supply plug (fingers crossed it doesn't go mental when I disconnect it!)
    I will have a look at the weekend to confirm I can get some thin cables in there using your method and then can probably order the dashcam after all.
    Yay!
     
  5. snd92

    snd92 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Norway
    Just use the OBD2-port, which is not used in a TMS.
     

Share This Page