TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Europeans want to rent a Model S for a coast to coast road trip

Discussion in 'North America -' started by geek, Dec 9, 2014.

1. geek

geek Member

Hello,

We'll be having our summer vacation in the US in 2015 and would really like to do a road trip from the west to the east coast with a Model S 85.

Is there a rental company that could help us out? I've been in contact with Hertz but that's a no go.

We're not complete newbies, having already rented one the past summer in Europe and loved every second with it.

Regards,
    Philippe.

2. RichardL

RichardL Member

A member here was able to rent an 85 at San Francisco earlier this summer (for the TMC Connect get together), so they are available - maybe its because you appear to be looking for a one way rental, instead of dropping off at the same location?

3. PokerBroker

PokerBroker Member

This will be quite the endeavor! 3500 miles one way without too many deviations and two weeks are almost necessary to enjoy stops along the way unless you are just going to charge through. To rent a private owner vehicle you'd have to find someone willing to have 7000 miles of round trip mileage and the ability to drive the car or have it shipped home. Given that Tesla knocks down their demo vehicles by $1/mile this might cost $7000 to $10,000 if the owner is trying to stay whole. I will love to hear how this turns out!

4. geek

geek Member

Of course we will not be trailblazing and will take two weeks. :)

I'm afraid it will turn out that we'll just rent from Hertz and do a round trip to San Francisco. :-/

5. BobbyKings

BobbyKings Silver

Would that be a good idea for my honeymoon? Route 66? Or 9?

6. TEUNTSLA

TEUNTSLA Member

7. CmdrThor

CmdrThor Member