TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Firmware 1.20.0

Discussion in 'Tesla Energy' started by Parzival, Jul 3, 2018.

  1. Parzival

    Parzival Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    My Powerwall stack got updated to 1.20.0 today. No release notes so far -- nothing looks different in the app. Anyone know anything?
     
  2. miimura

    miimura Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,867
    Location:
    Los Altos, CA
    My system also upgraded itself from 1.15.x to 1.20.0 sometime in the last 12 hours.
     
  3. commasign

    commasign Tesla Superfan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    Ditto. Looks the same. Still no time of use settings for me, though I have solar so maybe I’ll never have those settings?
     
  4. miimura

    miimura Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,867
    Location:
    Los Altos, CA
    You should call or e-mail Tesla Energy and ask why you don't have Time Based Control yet. I can't think of a good reason since people said they were told the rollout should be complete in June.
     
  5. commasign

    commasign Tesla Superfan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    Will do. Thx.
     
  6. zmansd

    zmansd Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Carlsbad, CA
    I am new posting to this forum, but I have found it to be a very informative source of information for my Powerwall 2 journey.

    I was updated to 1.20.0 July 2nd. I have my Powerwall 2 configured to run on my local WiFi. I know that in order to access the Wizard that you now have to use https://<local IP of Powerwall>. I also have configured my PVOUTPUT.org site to pull data from the Powerwall API and changed the integration service to use https as well. Here's my site: ZSolarPowerwall 7.560kW | Live Output.

    This was all working well until last night at 6:30pm. I am unable to access the Wizard interface and my PVOUTPUT service stopped pulling data. I connected to the Powerwall's onboard WiFi in order to connect to the Wizard - no luck. I tried powering off the Powerwall and resetting the Gateway to see if there was a problem - no luck.

    So, I called Tesla support. After several go arounds with them here's what I was told:
    1. The Wizard interface is meant for installers only.
    2. The functionality of the API is not supported for my usage. They said that some owners were "abusing the interface", tough they did not state that I had.
    3. My system is running fine and sending Tesla data via my WiFi.
    4. Last night they disabled the Wizard and API access on my Powerwall (remote command, not via firmware update).
    5. They are working on a new web interface for owners to configure their systems.
    6. They offered no insights to API access.
    7. Timeline for the new web interface two weeks to a month.

    So, this is a real bummer. Seems that if I want to get PVOUTPUT going I have to buy my own Neurio and have it installed.

    I would appreciate any insights.
     
    • Informative x 1
  7. Parzival

    Parzival Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Wow, that sucks. I still have web access to mine, and I am probably one of the owners who is "abusing the interface" ... if by abuse they mean pulling data once a second and stuffing it into a time-series database. Having that data, by the way, made it easy to prove one of my inverters was faulty on a couple of occasions. I've not connected mine to PVOUTPUT.
     
    • Like x 1
  8. cwied

    cwied Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    I think by "abusing," they probably mean something like what I'm doing - automating switching modes for demand reduction with OhmConnect. It's unfortunately their attitude that they are the only ones who should control the Powerwalls and are very unreceptive to customers trying to use their products in ways that they don't expect (yet).

    I can't imagine that even they would consider accessing the read-only interface that doesn't require authentication "abuse."

    I'm disappointed with their attitude, but am hopeful that they really will follow through with having a more functional web interface. That'll provide the ability to do more effective automation.
     
  9. zanary

    zanary Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    When they found out I was accessing my installer page with their credentials, they immediately disabled it back in December. Their stand is that nothing in that interface is for owners, only for technicians.

    Let's hope that whatever this new interface is, it will be as good for us owners.
     
  10. Parzival

    Parzival Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    That's funny--the installers who put my Powerwalls in were unable to do the commissioning process on their own, and they had me do it.
     
    • Like x 1
    • Funny x 1
  11. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    5,142
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Great..... hope this is sorted by the time I get my PWs in 2022, lol, end of this year... They really need a way for basic data to be extracted for logging, somehow.

    Thanks for the detailed info!
     
  12. MP3Mike

    MP3Mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    6,172
    Location:
    Oregon
  13. korinel

    korinel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    The same thing happened to me.

    In terms of API access, it looks like they've switched from http to https. Certificate verification becomes an issue, but most software allows you to choose to allow insecure connections. For instance, if you used to use:

    curl -s http://192.168...

    now use:

    curl -sk https://192.168...

    That should allow you to get any logging up and running again.

    The problem I haven't resolved yet is that I can no longer login using the API in order to change settings. This wouldn't be so bad, but I just tried to change my settings (switching 10% reserve to 25%), as we're having a heatwave and I wanted to increase my reserve in case of a power outage. But for whatever reason, the app no longer seems to be pushing changes to the powerwall for me. After an hour or so of waiting, I tried using the command line API, and had authentication problems, then tried the wizard and also the same. It seems I can change the password, based on entering the last 5 of the serial number, but it doesn't accept the password when I try to log in (as customer or installer), nor does it accept the old serial number based login. Very frustrating.

    If anyone finds a solution, please let me know!
     
  14. cwied

    cwied Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    Are you setting force_sm_off to true on the login? Firmware 1.17.0 and later will return a login failure if the Powerwall is not in standby unless you explicitly force the sitemaster off.
     
  15. korinel

    korinel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    Okay, this is very strange. We had a local 'critical peak pricing' demand response event today, from 2pm to 6pm, and the moment it ended (within 10s of seconds) at 6pm I regained control of the settings on my phone app, and the powerwall started recharging from solar. It may be a coincidence, as this was also exactly the time at which I hit my original reserve, but it was quite remarkable to see it happen. A graph of my power draw is attached. Note that 2pm is also when I hit peak rates, and so the sudden shift to delivering power back to the grid was expected behavior. The glitch at 5:38 pm was me turning the Powerwall off and on again using the button.

    On the plus side, my powerwall and HVAC seem to have just survived a heat wave that was within a degree of so of the hottest ever locally. We've been at 43-44 C (around 110 F) for most of the afternoon.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. korinel

    korinel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    Thanks to some help from elsewhere, the solution for the API login was to set username to "installer", rather than to my email address. All features are still available, from what I can tell.
     
    • Informative x 3
  17. korinel

    korinel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    Sitemaster is off for sure:

    curl -sk -H 'Content-Type: application/json' -X POST -d '{"username":"'"${username}"'", "password":"'"${serialno}"'", "force_sm_off":false}' https://${ip_addr}/api/login/Basic
     
  18. cwied

    cwied Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    Are you sure that's what you're sending? "force_sm_off":true is the setting to force the sitemaster off on login (equivalent to checking "Force Launch Wizard" on the Web UI). That was the fix I made to get my script working again. When I had it the way you do in your example, I kept getting login errors if the Powerwall was charging or discharging.

    Edit: I want to add I'm still on 1.17.2. The errors appeared when I was upgraded from 1.15.1
     
  19. zmansd

    zmansd Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Carlsbad, CA
    korinel and cwied:
    I'm no expert here, it seems that you both have your own applications and that you use shell scripts to access the API. My question is given what you've stated above, shouldn't I still be able to access the Wizard and the API directly from a web browser using https. e.g. http://192.168.1.100/api/system_status/soe? This is not working for me regardless of the browser. The browser clearly makes a connection, but it times out. My issue is that appear to have shut off any access to the API and Wizard. Can you provide me with some simple scripts to run from my raspberrpi to check it out?
    Thank you.
     
  20. cwied

    cwied Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    You say https, but your URL says http. Are you definitely using https to connect? The other question is if you are sure of the IP address you're using to connect to the Gateway. Did you get this from the client table on your router?

    Note that the Gateway can't present a certificate that is valid for all IP addresses, so you would need to get around the certificate validation to see any data in the browser.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC