TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Firmware 8.1 - Classics

Discussion in 'Tesla' started by HankLloydRight, Mar 29, 2017.

  1. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight Fluxing

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    8,110
    Location:
    Connecticut
    • Like x 1
    • Love x 1
  2. Cyclone

    Cyclone Cyclonic Member ((.oO))

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,903
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    So far, reports are that for us Classics, 8.1 is nothing but a bug fix for 8.0.
     
  3. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight Fluxing

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    8,110
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Right. Because 8.0 is one big bug.

    :)
     
    • Funny x 2
    • Like x 1
  4. neroden

    neroden Happy Model S Owner

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6,468
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY, USA
    Could we please get reports on SPECIFIC bug fixes? If there are any? So far, it sounds like all the bugs from 8.0 are still present, pathetically.
     
    • Like x 1
  5. Obsoletion

    Obsoletion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA (Southern California)
    Has anyone got the 8.1 firmware update on a no AP car? Got it earlier this week for the my P100D and nothing on the P85+ yet
     
  6. Hojo

    Hojo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Bump in hopes of someone confirming receipt of 8.1 for our "classic" cars
     
  7. Benjamin Brooks

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    469
    Location:
    San Jose, California, United States
    ev-fw.com suggests at least one classic has it from a service center visit/update. No apparent wifi distro though.
     
  8. Tomasz

    Tomasz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Iowa
    I just got 17.11.10 on my classic over wifi. I'll report on changes, if any found, tomorrow.
     
    • Like x 2
  9. Lump

    Lump Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    v17.11.10 W-iFi
    We get Favorite Radio Stations, Ratings & Open Hours, Voice Command update & most importantly doodler screen...
    IMG_0121.jpg
     
    • Like x 1
  10. Fiver

    Fiver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    892
    Location:
    Utah
    I'm not going to make any assumptions, but...
    The last two times I went to the SLC store/Supercharger and charged up, on my way home both times my instrument cluster has frozen up at almost the exact same point in my drive (just before I got home, about 20 minutes after leaving the charger). I know it's about to happen because a few minutes before it freezes it starts to get all jerky and unresponsive, then finally freezes. The main screen continues to work normally, I just lose speedometer and what not. It remains frozen until I do a force restart (holding top two buttons). Then a few hours later I'll get the "update available" notification.
    I thought they had turned off geofencing for that stuff but looks like it works again. Got 17.10.42 & 17.11.10 this way.
     
  11. Lump

    Lump Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Reboot required to get Homelink to work.
     
  12. Fiver

    Fiver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    892
    Location:
    Utah
    So this is probably across all cars, but since I have a classic I'll post here:

    I have a CPO, and tried out the new "Favorites" radio station on a trip up to Jackson Hole for closing this past weekend. Clearly favorites was linked to the car, and was not reset once I took ownership. (Although everything else from the previous owner was scrubbed away).

    So on the "favorites" station, I get a 'fun' compilation of music from someone who has a very different taste in music then I do. Previous owner seemed to be into Beyonce, 90's R&B, hip-hop and soul.... Mixed into that sporadically are my favorites since I took ownership. (Misfits, The Clash, Dead Kennedy's, basically 80's punk).
    It was all over the map. Kinda funny.
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  13. Cyclone

    Cyclone Cyclonic Member ((.oO))

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,903
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Well, that ultimately is coming from Slacker Radio in your case, so I would not be surprised if the same account is used for the car after it is sold. You could see about resetting all history in Slacker itself or maybe ask Tesla to switch accounts. I say this b/c any previous thumbs down of songs could potentially prevent you from hearing a song you like.
     
  14. Fiver

    Fiver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    892
    Location:
    Utah
    While humorous (and ear opening to music I wouldn't normally listen too) I have just been removing the thumbs up songs from the playlist that aren't mine. Slowly I'm gaining control of the station. No biggie, but interesting none the less. Slacker is certainly tied to the car, not the owner.
     
    • Like x 1
  15. Fiver

    Fiver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    892
    Location:
    Utah
    Stopped by the SLC service center to pick up my 21" wheels (they repaired curb rash). On the way home, once again, the dash screen froze up. Force reboot, and 15 minutes later I was prompted to install 17.14.23. Geofencing is alive and well it seems. Still wonder why updates crash my dash screen prior to install though.
     
  16. Knightowl

    Knightowl Whovian

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Colorado Springs

    will be at the service center tomorrow for an appt but just got the update this evening, only thing of note to me is the favs station that only plays things you thumbed up. I have been no where near any geofences for a couple months at least just 3g on the car and home wifi.
     
  17. MP3Mike

    MP3Mike Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,631
    Location:
    Oregon
    Did it actually freeze or did it just stutter? It has been said that unpacking and verifying the firmware once it is downloaded is very processor intensive and causes stuttering.
     
  18. Fiver

    Fiver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    892
    Location:
    Utah
    See Post #10
     
  19. Cyclone

    Cyclone Cyclonic Member ((.oO))

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,903
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I wouldn't quite say it froze. The verification of the download package is very processor intensive. Tesla for some reason places that at a higher priority than the messages being dropped on the CAN for updating the information cluster (rather than say, delaying the verification until the car is in park). If you left it alone, the center screen would eventually start updating again. Thankfully, the actual functions you see through the information cluster work in real-time properly. When I last experienced that, I went twenty minutes with my turn signal and brake lights on the center screen, but I definitely didn't drive down I-95 like that. It takes a while, but it eventually comes back. By rebooting, you just delayed the verification process so normal driving can have the processor (as I think Tesla should set up the system to do anyways).
     
  20. Fiver

    Fiver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    892
    Location:
    Utah
    Well, the first time it happened, I thought it just froze, so I did a reboot pretty quickly once I realized it happened. (got the update notification after the reboot).
    The second time I was aware of what was probably happening, so I finished my drive home (frozen) and did let it sit for a good hour or so before checking on it again, and it was still frozen. After a reboot I again got the update notification pretty quickly after it came back up.

    The third time (yesterday) I rebooted immediately after it froze, and almost immediately after it came back up I got the update notification.

    This is only the dash screen, the main MCU screen remained working fine each time.

    /edit My reboots were just the dash screen each time, holding the top two buttons. Not a main screen reboot holding the scroll wheels.
     

Share This Page