TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Fix for Roadster 80A Charging Bug

Discussion in 'Roadster' started by tomsax, Nov 7, 2013.

Tags:
  1. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    20,617
    #121 TEG, Jul 29, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2014
    I think the pilot signal reader circuitry has trouble getting a clean reading when the "off" phase is so short above 70A.

    [​IMG]

    Not much room for error on the 80A signal...

    [​IMG]

    80A duty cycle is right on the edge of triggering an error condition...

    Precise measurement starts to become more important.
     
  2. hcsharp

    hcsharp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,159
    Location:
    Vermont
    Hard to believe that would be true. It's still a very long pulse (on or off) compared to many other signals that the car has to read. A measly 4mhz microcontroller costing less than $1 can measure that with very high accuracy.
     
  3. slcasner

    slcasner Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Which is a real shame when I show up with my Roadster needing to charge so I can continue on to Santa Barbara.
     
  4. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    20,617
    I think that some of EVSEs may be putting out a sloppy waveform that doesn't pull as high and low as it should. I haven't measured it myself, and am just relating some things I heard secondhand. I think the "fix" is to change how the algorithm decides what is "on" and what is "off".
     
  5. Curt

    Curt Roadster Signature #55

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Rockville, MD
    TEG - this is certainly true. I was at the Electric Sociability Run in Charles Town, WV a couple of months ago. The site has 14 Schneider Electric EVSEs, and not one of them would work with my Roadster (1.5). Other EVs, including Model S, had no problem.

    There were some guys from Merit Solar there. They hooked up their testing equipment, and found that the pilot signal was out of spec on every one of the 14 stations.

    Fortunately, they had brought along one of their portable EVSEs, and we were able to tap into a circuit at the Civic Center, giving me enough charge to to get through the day's activities and get home the next day.

    I have since found two other locations with Schneider Electric EVSEs which would not work with my Roadster.
     
  6. djp

    djp Roadster 2.0 VIN939

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  7. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    20,617
    I think that is more of a ground fault detection issue, not necessarily an issue with the pilot signal.
     
  8. chrisro

    chrisro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Germany
    Does anybody seen how they update roadster? Which cable, software? How long it takes?
    cheers
     
    • Love x 1
  9. dhrivnak

    dhrivnak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787
    Location:
    NE Tennessee
    It is a firmware update. Mine was done during a Ranger visit of about 10 min.
     
    • Funny x 1
  10. chrisro

    chrisro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks, but I would like to know more technical side.
     
  11. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    20,617
    I think that they may have to open up the PEM and plug in a special firmware updater device (laptop) to program in new firmware.
    I don't know anything about the versions involved.
     
  12. chrisro

    chrisro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks for reply. They are not doing this by can bus connector?
     
  13. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    20,617
    I am not totally sure about that... sorry.
     
  14. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,276
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    They use a laptop running Tesla proprietary software, connected to the DIAG port in the footwell (not the OBDII port, but the DIAG one). The firmware update is performed over the CAN bus.
     
    • Helpful x 1
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  15. gregd

    gregd Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,078
    Location:
    CM98
    I'm surprised that a car that's been serviced has not already had the latest software installed. This fix was issued years ago.
     
  16. chrisro

    chrisro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Germany
    thanks
    what software is used ? MTS-2 ?
    do you have screenshot?

    Chris
     
  17. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,276
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I am not sure if they use anything more modern now, but the stuff I know of is all perl scripts with some basic curses based UI.
     
    • Informative x 1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC