TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Fob issues after Blackvue installation

Discussion in 'Model S' started by fallen888, Sep 24, 2016.

  1. fallen888

    fallen888 Member.. hehe, I said "member"

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Philly(ish), PA
    I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced something similar. I had the Blackvue 2-channel dash cam installed yesterday by a shop in my area. And it seems ever since then the key fob doesn't communicate well with my MS. I press it to lock and unlock, and it works 1/5 times. I get in the car with the fob and the car won't start, telling me there's no fob inside. I wave it around inside and after a few seconds it's detected. But I've never expedienced this until yesterday. Maybe has something to do with 8.0 update I received two days ago? Or something with the Blackvue signal interference? Or the shop messed up some wiring during the install?
     
  2. dsevigny

    dsevigny Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Montreal
    Where they put the extra wire available? I remember that someone had problem with the extra wire in the hatch/trunk so I asked my installer to put it in the front above the mirror area. Unplug everything from both camera and check if you still have the same problem. Easy to fix....
     
    • Helpful x 1
  3. fallen888

    fallen888 Member.. hehe, I said "member"

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Philly(ish), PA
    No idea. Wasn't there for the installation.
     
  4. fallen888

    fallen888 Member.. hehe, I said "member"

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Philly(ish), PA
    So issue seems to be related to the rear camera connection. When I unplugged that wire, fob command response was back to normal. Weird. I'll have to talk to the shop to fix this, and will just ride with the rear camera off for now.

    Thanks for tips.
     
  5. MichaelS

    MichaelS Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    Hayward CA
    I heard of this in another thread. It sounds like the cable going to the rear cable was damaged during installation. Probably the shield connection was broken at the rear connector. Only way to fix this is to replace the cable and have them be more careful installing it. It is a thin fragile cable.
     
    • Informative x 1
  6. fallen888

    fallen888 Member.. hehe, I said "member"

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Philly(ish), PA
    I don't think anything was damaged. All works fine when I disconnect the rear camera cable.
     
  7. freeewilly

    freeewilly Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    388
    Location:
    Brea, CA
    I read about the exact same problem in a different post, too.

    I installed Blackvue DR650s-2ch myself about a week ago, doesn't have fob issue, I ran the rear camera cable from the passenger side, from the center of the front windshield back to center for the rear window, the cable is perfect in length, didn't have to hide a single inch of the cable.
     
  8. brucet999

    brucet999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    I think MichaelS' point was that a broken shield on the rear camera cable allows electromagnetic radiation to escape and interfere with the fob. When disconnected, no transmissions, nothing to escape, ergo no interference.
     
    • Helpful x 1
  9. PaulR

    PaulR Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    My installer had shortened the cable and re-soldered it (so it still would power the rear camera fine) but that little bit of non-insulated braid which was exposed caused all kinds of problems with the GPS.

    Ask the installer if he changed the cable in any way. A while ago (not sure how long ago) BlackVue was shipping badly insulated cables and was having all kinds of interference problems with the GPS and other functions of the car. With the newer better insulated cable that stopped. As long as the installer didn't fiddle with that cable it should not cause you problems.

    Good luck,

    Paul
     
    • Helpful x 1
  10. fallen888

    fallen888 Member.. hehe, I said "member"

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Philly(ish), PA
    Ah, I get @MichaelS 's point now. Thank you all for your input!
     
  11. PraDes

    PraDes Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Plainsboro, NJ
    @fallen888, how much did you pay for getting it installed? I live in Plainsboro, NJ and am looking for getting it installed.
     
  12. fallen888

    fallen888 Member.. hehe, I said "member"

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Philly(ish), PA
    You probably want to follow this thread. I'll be following up in there shortly.
     
  13. JPP

    JPP Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,842
    Location:
    SF Bay area, CA
    Some installers cut and solder the rear coax cable because they do not have the time or skill to fish it properly. This is a no-no as the shielding is gone. This cable carries both power and signal/data for the rear camera. Even if the cable was not cut, if it was badly crimped (as can happen if not pulled carefully through the rear lift gate boot), it can also get damaged. As noted above, early model Blackvues used a cable with poor shielding. This particularly affected our EU colleagues with DAB radio. Newer Blackvues ship with an upgraded cable. Some EU folks who did not want to fish a new cable purchased and installed snap-on ferrite cores to help shield the signal/noise.
     
    • Helpful x 1
  14. PraDes

    PraDes Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Plainsboro, NJ
    @fallen888, thanks. I noticed details of installation in Hamilton. Will call him.
     
  15. fallen888

    fallen888 Member.. hehe, I said "member"

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Philly(ish), PA
    Feel free to mention that Konstantin referred you. ;)
     
  16. PraDes

    PraDes Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Plainsboro, NJ
    Sure, I will.
     

Share This Page