TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

font used for posts

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by dsm363, Oct 28, 2012.

  1. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,220
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    I know this is a computer issue with my Mac OS 10.8 but somehow I did something to the fonts while trying to fix Word/Excel not launching. I bought FontDoctor hoping it was a font problem and now all the posts here are in italics. I thought it was an Arial font issue and have tried replacing that. Is there a standard font that is used for posts here? I thought that might help me figure out which font was messed up. Thanks.
     
  2. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,452
    Location:
    Texas
    1. I'm assuming you've already checked the browser preferences to make sure that the default font is correct.

    2. Download the latest combo patch and install that. A combo patch installation will go through everything and set many things back to the way they were.

    3. Did you try Pages and Numbers? Between them and NeoOffice (for the odd compatibility problem with formulas) programs from that other company have been either banished or regulated to VMWare where they do only a minimum amount of harm.

    As far as I know the Forum font is Ariel.
     
  3. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,220
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    The new safari 6 took out the preferences section to pick the font for some reason. I'm trying to reinstall Office again. Pages and Numbers seem to work.
     
  4. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,452
    Location:
    Texas
    Apple has taken away far too many things in Lion. That's why I'm still on Snow Leopard. It's just about perfect except for its annoying habit of changing the hostname and the limited number of processes you can have.
     
  5. Owner

    Owner Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    I'm a bit lost on fonts and thought I would just amend this thread.

    I have my own blog, and at times I copy text from my blog or from a pages document (Mac only here).
    When I do so, i do not get the default font to show up. I've tried various fonts that you have in the menu but nothing looks right. Is there something I am missing? What is the default font?
     
  6. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,854
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    #6 doug, Aug 13, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2013
    The editor has two modes. The WYSIWYG Mode (a bit of a misnomer) and the Source Mode. For most members the WYSIWYG is on by default. You can switch modes by clicking that top left [SUP]A[/SUP]/A button in the editor.

    If you copy and paste something while in the WYSIWYG mode the editor attempts to maintain whatever formatting. So you may get odd looking fonts, etc. Chrome has a "Paste as plain text" option that will avoid that. There's also a "Remove Format" button on the editor (top, second from the left) that will strip special formatting from the selected text.

    I hope that was easy enough to follow and addressed the issue you're having.
     
  7. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,231
    It's probably not a good idea to nitpick the Head Mod, but I have to ask...

    Is the 6th letter in this acronym really what you intended?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Another approach that has worked reliably for years for me:
    Paste into notepad and copy back out. ;)
     
  8. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,854
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    Thanks. It's an annoying acronym to type so I just copy and pasted it, along with my typo, each time. I say it's a misnomer since it's not really a proper WYSIWYG; not all the BB Codes are evaluated while in the editor (e.g., the
     
  9. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,231
    No worries. For a moment, I thought you were making a play on the fact that I can control what you see by editing my post. ;)
     
  10. Owner

    Owner Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Thank you! I played with all the font choices numerous times but never noticed that mode button.

     

Share This Page