TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Forcing maps/nav system to use one of two alt. routes

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by skn, Aug 28, 2014.

  1. skn

    skn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Hi all,

    Say there are two main routes from point A to B. I am not sure what algorithm Tesla maps uses to figure out which to use, but I think it is the shortest route. However it so happens that the unselected route2 is the one I prefer because it uses the highway (call it A10) rather than the smaller road of route1.

    Is there any way I can tell my sat nav. to use a specific route? Something like destination is B but use (or go via) A10?

    Thanks!
     
  2. ojee99

    ojee99 Onno

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,084
    Location:
    Den Haag
  3. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,766
    Location:
    Texas
    You can't tell the map to use it, but you can mute the annoying sound and drive on your preferred route. Eventually it will get the idea and route you correctly.
     
  4. ojee99

    ojee99 Onno

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,084
    Location:
    Den Haag
    Just wait for V6
     
  5. skn

    skn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Been and seem to still be a long wait. With 5.14 no end in sight :)
     
  6. skn

    skn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    That is what I do now but that means I need to remember the route for a while at least
     
  7. P.Mac

    P.Mac Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Bay Area
    I have not yet taken delivery, so i am not familiar with the system. Is it possible to set a "way point" or interim destination along the desired route? Would that be a work-around to select the second choice?
     
  8. bob_p

    bob_p Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    939
    The current navigation software in the Model S is very basic - no waypoints, no alternate routes, no integration with real-time traffic, no ability to point at a location on the map and setting that as a destination, limited favorites support, ... plus the system is using very old maps (could be at least 3 years old).

    The promised (and hopefully soon-to-be-released) version 6 software should have significant improvements to the navigation features.

    However, even with the limitations, the current software is useful and pretty easy to use.

    A major benefit of the Model S is Tesla's commitment to provide upgrades to the on-board software, and it's not unreasonable to expect that Tesla will continue to add new functionality to the navigation and other software applications over the car's lifetime.
     
  9. JohnQ

    JohnQ Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,585
    Location:
    Redding, CT
    The best I've found is to set an intermediate waypoint as your final destination then, as you get close, enter your final destination.
     
  10. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,766
    Location:
    Texas
    And the Google maps on the main display is always up to date. Actually, I've never seen a car system that wasn't out of date. The mapping companies just don't have the resources that Google does. In addition, most of them emphasize points of interest (e.g. businesses that pay to be listed) rather than streets and roads). I've found the Tesla system to be the most useful in-car system I've used. It does need some enhancements like Bob says: waypoints, avoid toll road, avoid highways, bigger fonts, etc. I expect them to come with time. It's already better than it was when I first got the car.
     
  11. ThosEM

    ThosEM Space Weatherman

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    My only real annoyance with the current product is that it is very reluctant to interpret a "wrong" turn as the driver's desire to take a different route. It persists in demanding U turns and plotting paths back to the original route for quite a long time before giving up and recalculating. I hope that improves in v6, if only with a dialog asking if that is the intent, so one can terminate the recovery algorithm.
     
  12. scaesare

    scaesare Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3,940
    Location:
    NoVA
    Well almost. There's a highway about 30 mins from me that's been there for at least a year that confuses both the Google and Navigon systems in the car... I just drove it again last week and as far as the car was concerned I was off-roading cross-country.
     
  13. NigelM

    NigelM Recovering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13,257
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Hehe, I once drove over a new bridge to an island and my Roadster nav thought I was doing the James Bond thing. Nav eventually froze completely and I had to reboot it back on the mainland.
     
  14. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,766
    Location:
    Texas
    With Google, there is a way to tell them about this. I haven't used it myself, but others have said it often gets corrected within a few days.
     
  15. GreenT

    GreenT Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    292
    Location:
    Here
    I beg to differ ... our GPS does have on screen traffic.
     
  16. scaesare

    scaesare Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3,940
    Location:
    NoVA
    I was actually surprised that the center console internet-based Google maps didn't have it right... whereas I wasn't so much so the Navigon based dash display.

    Perhaps the map updates in the upcoming v6.0 firmware will help.

    I actually just looked at the route on Google maps via my desktop, and it appears to have the new route (although it's hard to tell form memory, as it's an elevated roadway that closely mirrors the previous road). I've not seen too many disparities between what Google maps decides to display in-car vs. via the web, although I'll often see differing routs suggested for the same start and end points.
     
  17. CatB

    CatB Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    663
    If scaesare means the ICC in MD, I have had the same issue, and it has been there for 2 years! Google maps at least shows me traffic, but won't route me on it, the dash shows me racing over fields. Do we know that V6 will fix this? If so, I would be happy to gamma test (since I don't rate a beta:cool:)
     
  18. scaesare

    scaesare Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3,940
    Location:
    NoVA
    Oh, actually I've never driven that... but that's about the right distance too.

    I'm talking about the new route 9 byway in WV on the way to Charles Town...
     
  19. aviators99

    aviators99 Model S - R140

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,453
    Location:
    Weston, Florida, United States
    He said "integration" with real-time traffic.
     
  20. dirkhh

    dirkhh Middle-aged Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,645
    Location:
    Portland, OR, USA
    Yesterday the Nav tried to send me along a road that no longer exists (the Bus97 / Hwy 97 interchange in Bend, OR). Google maps had it right and showed Bus97 ending there, but the blue line happily went through the gap...
     

Share This Page