TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Forum headers changed?

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by grashelm, Jun 20, 2016.

  1. grashelm

    grashelm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Florida
    Before when I was in the Model 3 forum, when I would scroll down in the main forum headings or in individual threads, the Model 3 forum link was always at the top of the screen when I would scroll down *see attachment". Now when I scroll down, the model 3 link is no longer there. That link was convenient for going back to the main Model 3 forum regardless of where you were in the forum itself or thread that you are in. Or is it just my browser?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. grashelm

    grashelm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Florida
    Bump. Admins? Anyone?
     
  3. danny

    danny Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    738
    We are reworking things a little.....
     
  4. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight Fluxing

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5,766
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Along these same lines, on my iPhone 6, the top three forum headers are now (see image)

    New Posts Wikiposts What's New? ...


    And "Watched Threads" is now gone from the top menu, it's now the last option on the "..." submenu.

    I can't imagine that "Wikiposts" is in more demand than "Watched Threads" which I use constantly. Now it's a tedious and very precise "touch" to hit those three TINY dots and then select "Watched Threads" in the sub menu.. it also takes a lot more time.

    I don't know if this was intentional, or why "New Posts", "Wikiposts", and "What's New?" are higher priority than "Watched Threads", but I have to imagine that most people use "Watched Threads" and/or "New Posts" most often.. but does "WikiPosts" really need to be on the top menu for mobile?

    thanks.

    upload_2016-6-24_17-12-50.png
     
  5. GoTslaGo

    GoTslaGo Learning Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    NV
    #5 GoTslaGo, Jun 24, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2016
    Try clicking on the "what's new". I hadn't noticed it until you mentioned it. It brings up your unread options in your followed forums etc... Pretty cool. I think I'll use it more often.

    Edit:

    Ok, really seems to only work w watching forums. Other options in "what's new" seems redundant. So now I'm more ambivalent. Back to pushing the ...
     
  6. grashelm

    grashelm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Florida
    Still want to see the locked header menu at the top have the forum that you are currently in while scrolling down (see attachment in original post). I'm not necessarily interested in all new posts but I do like to go back to the main forum for the topic I am in (ie Model 3) so I can pick and choose which topics with new posts I want to read.
     
  7. danny

    danny Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    738
    The "What's New?" feature is something new. There's an issue with it that we still have to fix before we point people to it.

    Regarding the navbar and where links show up, etc., we're in the process of reworking all of that.

    I appreciate this type of feedback.
     
    • Informative x 1
  8. Alketi

    Alketi Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Boston, North Shore
    FWIW, I miss the Model 3 quick link.

    I now find myself just clicking on "New Posts", because it's too many clicks to navigate through the Forums to look through individual topics.
     
  9. Alketi

    Alketi Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Boston, North Shore
    Update: I like the new "Vehicles" quick-link option!

    Though there is one UI issue -- the mouse-over context menu doesn't appear if you're already in one of the Vehicles forums. In other words, if I choose Vehicles->Model 3, then I can't mouse-over Vehicles again to quickly switch to another car forum. The mouse-over is disabled in that case.
     
  10. danny

    danny Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    738
    Yeah, we put back the "Vehicle" tab because many wanted the convenience but we will fix the context menu.
     
    • Like x 2

Share This Page