TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

FSD Computer upgrade issues

Discussion in 'Model S' started by JPTAYLOR, Jun 24, 2020.

  1. JPTAYLOR

    JPTAYLOR Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Oakland
    I took my 2017 S P100D to the service center early yesterday for the AP2.0 to AP3.0 upgrade. The service center said that it would take around 4 hours to complete.

    It has now been almost two full days. The service center informed me that they are having software issues with the car and that engineering has been working on it.

    Has anyone else experienced this issue?

    I searched the forum and did not find any similar threads.

    Thanks!
     
    • Helpful x 1
  2. ShawnA

    ShawnA Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Messages:
    801
    Location:
    Edwardsburg, MI
    Hi Jptaylor,

    Many people have reported this problem...
    I saw the software was upgraded 4 to 5 times when they put the FSD
    hardware in my Model X.

    It's a crapshoot, some apply instantly, others take multiple attempts.

    I believe it is why they refrain from doing the install by ranger...
    Limited access to large data transfers...

    Your car will be fine,

    Shawn
     
    • Like x 1
  3. zanary

    zanary Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,287
    Location:
    SF Bay Area (East Bay), CA
    I had my Model X AP2 to AP3 upgrade done by a ranger in my driveway, and the entire thing took 2 hours.

    It is possible that your MCU1 is nearing it's life, and it's causing problems with software updates. While very slim, just be prepared for them to let you know that your MCU1 has died.

    If that does indeed happen, then your options may be:

    (1) Get a refurbished MCU1
    (2) Ask them if you can get the Infotainment Upgrade for $2500 which will upgrade you to MCU2 and IC2...
     
    • Helpful x 1
    • Like x 1
  4. JPTAYLOR

    JPTAYLOR Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Oakland
    Appreciate the info.

    It is possible that the MCU1 is near end of life. The car has 38k miles so I'm still under warranty either way.

    I will update once I find out more.
     
  5. kdday

    kdday Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,076
    Location:
    AZ
    Tell the SC to make sure the following is set on your car

    Dashw 4
    autopilotCameraType 1
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Like x 2
  6. Art_Vandelay

    Art_Vandelay Attractive Membrane

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Elon’s left eyebrow
    Hey @kdday on an unrelated question...

    Are RCCB cameras autopilotCameraType 2 on the car's gateway configuration?
     
    • Like x 1
  7. kdday

    kdday Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,076
    Location:
    AZ
    Yessir
     
    • Like x 1
  8. Art_Vandelay

    Art_Vandelay Attractive Membrane

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Elon’s left eyebrow
    Awesome, thanks!

    Seeing that we need to change ethernettunertype from 1 to 0 in order to enable Tuner2, you never know what's what with Tesla's nomenclatures...
     
  9. kdday

    kdday Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,076
    Location:
    AZ
    The tuner one is the weird one for sure. Ethernettunertype 1 basically means "no tuner" whereas the absence of this setting, or ethernettunertype 0, both mean "yes, there's a tuner".
     
    • Helpful x 1
    • Informative x 1
  10. dannycamps

    dannycamps Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Northeast USA
    My experience (it wasn't smooth):
    My AutoPilot 3.0 Upgrade Experience
     
    • Like x 1
  11. luckyj

    luckyj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    My car is going under the knife tomorrow. Fingers crossed.
     
    • Funny x 1
  12. JPTAYLOR

    JPTAYLOR Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Oakland
    Wow that is a truly awful experience! Hopefully once they resolve mine it will be smooth sailing.

    They haven't responded to my texts today.

    Good luck to you lickyj! Bad things always happen to me. Should change my name to unluckyj ;)
     
  13. JPTAYLOR

    JPTAYLOR Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Oakland
    Well finally got it back at the end of the third day. Nothing wrong with MCU, they just said they had a terrible time with the software.

    They even drove around to calibrate and make sure everything was working properly so no @dannycamps situation.

    Thanks everyone and good luck with future upgrades.

    P.S. Was super happy to give back the green 2013 P85+ with tags that were 9 months expired.
     
    • Like x 1
  14. Bmac

    Bmac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania
    Took my car in yesterday at 1pm and got it back today at 10 am. I also saw at least 2 attempts to download software Took about 10 miles to calibrate. I had to reset wifi and homelink, but so far no other issues. now need to buy the drive for the new entry mode.
     
  15. Hugh-SG

    Hugh-SG Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2019
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Burnaby, BC
    Gud'evening folks, June 27 midnightish.

    I got the notice 10 days ago. Immediately booked a Friday appointment.

    Got an email from Doug in Vancouver, telling me of shortage of FSD 3.0 computers, pushing me back a Week.

    No worries.

    So a week later my MX went under the knife at 08:15 this morning. Very efficient check in and they had a loaner 60D MX waiting for me.

    At 10:10 my mobile chimed, with my Tesla App telling me new software UG availability.
    25 minutes later another Chime and told it was done.

    Then came the Text at 11:53, surgery successful, come and get your MX.

    The "Camera Calibration" was painless and I now have DashCam and the 32gig chip I bought back in 2018 is finally getting a good work out.

    This afternoon another Software update notice came in and it is now uploading.

    My thanks to Doug, Humpery and the team at 4th Ave Service Centre such nice, smooth service.

    Kindest regards,
    Hugh-SG
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  16. luckyj

    luckyj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Well the surgery was completed on Friday, but finished too late to pick up the car. I just picked it up now and so far, so good. Shortly after getting home, I got a prompt to install 2020.20.12, which is currently installing. I'll do some testing later today after work.
     
    • Like x 1
  17. luckyj

    luckyj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    The cameras have not finished calibrating quite yet (it's at 98%), I didn't do too much driving. But it's cool to see stop signs and lights in the ICU visualization. Seems to work fairly well at detecting and stopping. I noticed a couple times that the system suddenly thought the stop line was a bit closer to me than it really was, and got some abrupt braking I had to override. Have not done enough driving to determine if overall performance has changed much, but initially it does seem smoother. I did notice that in some areas, I wasn't able to go 5 over the speed limit as I could before. Not sure if that's from 2020.20.12 or the FSD computer upgrade.
     
    • Like x 1
  18. kdday

    kdday Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,076
    Location:
    AZ
    The speed limitation is due to having FSD Preview turned on (stopping for signs and lights). If you turn that off in the Autopilot menu, you can go 5 over in AP again.
     
    • Like x 3
  19. jslanger

    jslanger Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    Out of curiosity from those who have done the upgrade, did Tesla contact you to upgrade the hardware? Just bought the software update today, but was curious how this process goes. I have a 2018 Model S, MCU1, but AP 2.5 HW. Thanks.
     
    • Like x 1
  20. 2101Guy

    2101Guy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Messages:
    639
    Location:
    USA
    no. Up to you to contact Tesla to have them order parts and schedule install
     
    • Like x 1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC