Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Full Size Spare Tire - everything I learned after 3 months of research

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I just spent a ridiculous amount of time researching all of the options for a spare tire for my Tesla Model 3, so I wanted to share my experience in case it benefited anyone else.

What I'll cover:
1. The options for getting a spare tire for a Tesla Model 3. (this is mostly applicable to other models too.) I'll share the full-size spare I got and what I paid.
3. The jack that I ended up buying.

Okay, here is what I found in 3 months of research. Oh, and I'll say this up front: I have never changed a spare tire. Everything I share here is from internet research. Anything you don't agree with, please feel free to correct me. I am not an expert, I'm not even an amateur.

My goals for wanting a spare tire: I wanted to know that any trip I take would have a minimal (less than 30 minutes) interruption if I got a flat, and that I could safely drive in any condition afterwards. Meaning: if I got a flat tire in the snow in 8 degree weather, that I would feel safe driving after I changed the tire.

PART 1: SPARE TIRE OPTIONS FOR A TESLA MODEL 3
So the five options for a spare tire seem to be:

1. Don't bother with a spare tire. Rely on Tesla's roadside assistance, AAA, or a quick fix like a plug.
2. The Modern Spare product, which seems to cost between $400-500 with shipping. This is basically a large donut. Comes as a nice kit.
3. Buy a full-sized wheel from Tesla. Cost with tire and TPS sensor: around $800.
4. Buy a set of winter tires (or summer tires) and use one of them as a full-sized spare. That is about $2,000 minimum if you buy from Tesla. There are other options if you buy other brands.
5. Buy a second-hand wheel (rim) and get a tire put on it.