Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Gauging Interest in a "Charging Reminder Service"

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm a long time software developer and a 2x Tesla owner. One of the experiences my wife and have both had is that if we forget to plugin the vehicle for two days in a row, then we probably won't make it to work and back the next day. This happened recently, and so I started looking around for a "charging reminder service". I tried to find an app, Alexa skill, or device that would somehow notify us that "it's past 8PM and your car isn't plugged-in" (or something similar). But after much searching, I've not found that feature in any service - wish TeslaFi had it.

So here's my pitch to create such a service, and I'd like your feedback on the proposed features. The first version of the service would be very slimmed down, so this is just a starting point.

1) Costs $12 a year per Tesla account (not car), paid yearly upfront via PayPal or some such service. (Servers to run this aren't free, and software developers should be paid for their time)

2) You visit a website, sign-up with your phone number, and then provide your Tesla Email and Password (tokens are available, but I'd want my wife to be able to do this, and she's never going to figure out the token thing).

3) On the website you specify a minimum desired driving range (minimum charge), and a time of day at which to begin checking whether the vehicle is plugged-in.

4) On the website you select your notification method. Text message, Email, Alexa Notification, Honk the car's horn. (other suggestions?)

5) The notifications will not occur if the vehicle is being driven, and the status will be checked until the vehicle has been parked for 10 minutes or so (allowing time to plugin after parking without notifications).