TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Good cellular service but no internet

Discussion in 'Model X: User Interface' started by Gary52, May 21, 2018.

  1. Gary52

    Gary52 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    Everything in my Model x works perfectly. My iPhone connects properly, the navigational system works great, the Slacker streaming works fine etc. The only thing that will not work without a reset is the internet. If I try to google something nothing happens. The screen stays on but its like the search or whatever I was doing just goes blank. If I do the two button reset it will come back and work properly for the day but the next day the same thing happens. I turned off the WIFI just to see if it somehow was kicking the cellular service off but that did not help either.
    So now I have to reboot everyday. I called Tesla and they said they are working on it but I wanted to reach out to the group to see if anyone has a idea/fix.

    Thanks
    Gary
     
  2. TooManySeats

    TooManySeats Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Sol System
    Technically, it sounds like the Web browser, or specifically the rendering engine, is not working (since Slacker and on-line navigation would also be using the Internet). The rendering engine also appears to be used for the contents of the on-line user manual (from the T-menu) and the release notes, so you will probably find these blank as well, when the Web browser is not working.

    There's another recent thread:
    Browser Frozen?????

    It had annoyed me just enough that I contacted customer support, and I've been failing to describe the issue well enough to the person responding to the eMails it seems. I've been told that LTE signal is not available everywhere, and that I can access the User Manual from either the menu on the car or from the Tesla Web site; so no useful response.
     
  3. Gary52

    Gary52 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    Thanks for better describing the issue you are correct it is a browser or the rendering. The on line user manual in the T menu does not work. I will post the reply I get from Tesla which has been escalated to a higher support level. I should here in a few days. Thanks again for responding
     
  4. Gary52

    Gary52 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    Also the other recent thread you referenced does sound like the same issue and I do have the new MCU as described in that post.
     
  5. tpham07

    tpham07 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,941
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    maybe its just AT&T. my work phone uses AT&T and it is complete garbage in terms of service wherever I go. even with 4-5 bars LTE I can do a speediest and get 1-3mbps.
     
  6. TooManySeats

    TooManySeats Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Sol System
    This has nothing to do with the cellular service, which for both the poster in the first comment and my own experience is fine. Moreover, the cellular service shouldn't even come into play when browsing the in-car User Manual. This is an issue somewhere in the Web browser component/HTML rendering infrastructure Tesla has implemented.
     
  7. GOPJEW

    GOPJEW Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    Potomac, MD
    I have same issue - vehicle was at SC and they said it’s a known firmware issue...mine only started having a problem after .18
     
  8. Tdreamer

    Tdreamer Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Bedford, Massachusetts
    Similar reports here - also on 2018.18 and I don't think the issue was happening before that version. I also noted that when this is happening, navigation reports no traffic data available. When I started the route, it was available and displayed, but mid-route that message popped up and the cellular signal indicator showed no signal. The two-scroll-button salute resolves it. It's not an LTE coverage issue - when this happened I was in the middle of town traveling at modest speed (ie. not moving a great distance). Upon reboot, the cellular signal strength showed four bars.

    I should add this has happened to me 4-5 times in the past three weeks at least as I was traveling 4700 miles from New England out to Custer, SD and back. Yes, there were gaps in cellular coverage along the way, but this problem was happening mostly towards the end of a multi-hour leg of the trip as I typically returned to civilization and a supercharger.
     
  9. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9,947
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Known issue with the new Intel based MCU on newer cars. I have the problem too. You will also notice you can't open the Owners Manual or see any content in the software "What's New" dialog box (must be browser-based).
     
  10. Tdreamer

    Tdreamer Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Bedford, Massachusetts
    But my X is a September '17 build with the old MCU...
     
  11. Gary52

    Gary52 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    Today I had the bride idea of shutting off the car power entirely. I went on the home screen and hit the button that says shutting off power . I then waited in the car for 5 min until I felt the entire system was off. ( it’s like unplugging your router that get stuck at home). I then pressed on the brake to wake up the car and low and behold the browser worked for the first time in 3 weeks. I took several drives today and every time the browser worked.
    If you try this make sure you wait for several minutes as it takes the car several minutes to stop everything.
     
    • Informative x 1
  12. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9,947
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Okay... maybe it's not an exclusive MCU 2 thing then. It does seem more prevalent on MCU 2 cars because I have a number of friends with older cars who have not experienced it.

    I'll give that another try. In my experience, the browser quits after the car goes to sleep, then wakes up again. Curious to know what happens to you next time the car sleeps. Of course, MCU 2 cars no longer have any of the sleep options as they are now all "automatic" so I can't turn off Sleep even if I wanted to.
     
  13. GOPJEW

    GOPJEW Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    Potomac, MD
    Mine is much better after latest update - I am MCU2 - it still happens occasionally but NOT nearly as much since they updated me to 18.20
     
  14. Gary52

    Gary52 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    You were correct. The next time the car want to sleep overnight the browser would not work. Taking it in tomorrow to SC. Will update everyone when I get further information.
     
  15. GOPJEW

    GOPJEW Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    Potomac, MD
    What firmware are you on? Since 2018.20 mine is MUCH better - there is now a 2018.20.5 out there...waiting for it but mine has only frozen once that I have noticed (though I do NOT have an Owners Manual any more...)
     
  16. Gary52

    Gary52 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    I’m on 2018.20. It certainly sounds more and more like a firmware issue. If it was a hardware issue I doubt I would get interment usage of the browser. I will see what they say tomorrow and update everyone
     
  17. Gary52

    Gary52 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    The SC confirmed it is a firmware issue and will have an update soon.
     
    • Informative x 2
  18. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9,947
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    I am now on 2018.20 and it's worse for me. I now have no browser (or owners manual) under any circumstances... even after re-booting. MCU2 here as well.
     
  19. jrad6515

    jrad6515 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    76107
    Exact same scenario for me too, unfortunately.
     
  20. jrad6515

    jrad6515 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    76107
    Just got 2018.21.9 and my browser works again! I can also bring up the owner's manual for the first time since the last update (2018.20). I have MCU2.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC