Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Groundhog day ?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Why do I feel that today's announcement will be followed by and distract from another MX delay ?
Haven't we experienced this before ?

Maybe just paranoid :confused::eek::wink:

Personally I have no knowledge of reasons to believe Model X first deliveries are delayed beyond this autumn (of course we know they are already a couple of years late or so), but considering your question I guess the only think that reeks a little of groundhog day is the "90" part.

Just like with "D" many assume that is what Tesla originally had intended to launch with Model X (but launched it first on Model S because Model X was moved forward), many of us have pondered if a larger battery would launch with Model X. Is the decision to launch it on Model S first suggestive of Model X launch being later than they perhaps would have wanted - so they went ahead with the Model S anyway, because the battery was ready?

Or it could just mean these things were never connected anyway - maybe these were always meant to come to the Model S first, because Model X is constrained for so long anyway. Or even - like someone, was it Paul Carter, toyed with - that Model X might get an even larger battery. Or maybe this was just to get some housekeeping stuff on the Model S out of the way, so that when Model X comes, it could be all about the Model X. Just a few speculative thoughts.

Hey, don't get me wong.

I don't have inside information either. The only thing I wanted to state is, that I see some recurring pattern in announcing some MS improvements which seems somehow to cover/ease the pain of an delaied anticipated/expected MX launch.
Whether this is connected or not - I don't know, just speculating... :)

If it takes even more time to launch MX as a perfect product, so be it. Who wants an MX with a lot of flaws?