Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Have 14-50...ordered Wall Connector 3. Questions...

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

phantasms

Mr Self Destruct
Supporting Member
Jan 30, 2019
White Mountains, NH
Initially I had my two car garage wired with a 14-50 on either side of the garage when we got out Model 3 in 2018. I didn’t get the wall connector because it was more money and the 14-50 offered more charging options should I get a different EV in the future.

Now with the Model Y coming in, and realizing I’ll be only buying Tesla’s for the rest of my life, I’ve got two Wall Connector 3s on the way here.

Currently each 14-50 is connected to one of those double 50 breakers in the panels. So two doubles, to be clear.

obviously I’m not an electrician. lol

Not sure if it matters but the main breaker is in the garage.
What do I ask my electrician?

Replace each 14-50 with a wall connector?

Is it possible to add the wall charger in line, next to the 14-50? Maybe have some kind of switch that only allows an either/or use situation? Not that anyone would be plugging something into the 14-50 while the car was charging on that connector.

What’s my best move?

Thank you so much in advance!

Best,
Gene

Initially I had my two car garage wired with a 14-50 on either side of the garage when we got out Model 3 in 2018. I didn’t get the wall connector because it was more money and the 14-50 offered more charging options should I get a different EV in the future.

Now with the Model Y coming in, and realizing I’ll be only buying Tesla’s for the rest of my life, I’ve got two Wall Connector 3s on the way here.

Currently each 14-50 is connected to one of those double 50 breakers in the panels. So two doubles, to be clear.

obviously I’m not an electrician. lol

Not sure if it matters but the main breaker is in the garage.
What do I ask my electrician?