Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Help Charging with J1772 Adapter

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hey there, I am a complete newbie Model X owner- love it to bits already. But can someone please give me the idiot (i am already confused by a gen 2 or 3 wifi etc - I am looking on ebay for the home one but I am guessing that it is too hard to install right? ) guide to charging at home and outside at non tesla charging stations- with the J1772 adaptor - can you do that at home too - if we get a Volvo electric vehicle soon- is there a happy meeting place!

What home charger are you using with your Tesla now, or do you have one? I suspect your question regarding gen2 and gen3 related to WiFi has to do do with Tesla wall chargers. The gen3 model is WiFi enabled, but at this juncture offers little to the end user in terms of added value.

If you get a Tesla wall charger, it will charge your vehicle at a 48 Amp rate. Most Non Tesla chargers will charge at a 40 Amp rate. This will result in slightly longer charging times for the non Tesla. I have not charged my car using the J1772 adapter, as I live close to two Tesla Super Chargers, and have a wall charger at home. I see no issue with using the adapter you propose, and a non Tesla wall charger.

gen2 Tesla wall chargers can be connected to circuits of up to 100A by an electrician to provide charging of up to 80A (only old Model S with dual charger supports this, single charger would be 40A, older Model X with high power charger can charge at 72A, any newer or w/o high power charger Tesla can only charge at 48A).

gen3 Tesla wall chargers can be connected to circuits of up to 60A by an electrician to provide charging of up to 48A on any Tesla (except OG Roadster).