TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Help! Main screen dead!

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by nagerseth, Jul 21, 2015.

  1. nagerseth

    nagerseth Tesla Enthusiast/Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Hey guys! In need of some huge help. My main screen just went blank for no apparent reason and won't turn back on. When I do the screen reset, the T shows and keeps resetting.

    Did the update earlier today, drove about 6 miles. Parked for 5 hours and that's what happened. As expected the mirrors fold out automatically, AC don't work, no music either. Car was on valet move when I sat down to leave.
     
  2. mibaro2

    mibaro2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Georgetown, ON
    The T keeps showing up, and resetting? Ihad this happen a few months ago, and had to call service. It was a glitch that caused my problem
     
  3. NigelM

    NigelM Recovering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13,350
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Call Tesla Service, they'll sort you out.
     
  4. nagerseth

    nagerseth Tesla Enthusiast/Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I called. They can't pull the logs and want me to drive it to the Rockville service tomorrow AM.
     
  5. apacheguy

    apacheguy S Sig #255

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,669
    Location:
    So Cal
    Hopefully just a software error and not hardware.
     
  6. Majerus

    Majerus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    Illinois
    I would end up calling tesla but maybe try this first..

    Hold down the two buttons above the rollers for about a full minute. When the Tesla logo appears, continue to hold for about 30 sec. Then, hold down the rollers for about a minute. Then release.

    Source:REBOOT ENTIRE SYSTEM | Forums | Tesla Motors
     
  7. nagerseth

    nagerseth Tesla Enthusiast/Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Tried all resets I could find. No change. Taking it in to Rockville Service right now.
     
  8. Majerus

    Majerus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    Illinois
    Get it figured out?
     
  9. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,037
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    When my centre screen lost its touch capability, Tesla services suggested I shouldn't drive it and they would send a flat bed. I said no need, and I would drive it in. I found the car operated normally, and I could control most functions from either the iPhone App or steering wheel controls. Only problem I had was when I arrived at the sharp ramp leading up to the service centre - no way to raise suspension without centre screen capability.
     
  10. nagerseth

    nagerseth Tesla Enthusiast/Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Update: they replaced the screen. Apparently the firmware update was corrupted during download. Has happened to a few other people with this version too. Mine was just the first one in the DMV area to call Service.
     
  11. ecarfan

    ecarfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    14,114
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    There was a problem with the firmware but they replaced some hardware (the screen)? That doesn't make sense to me.
     
  12. nagerseth

    nagerseth Tesla Enthusiast/Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    The firmware update wouldn't let them remove the corrupted files.
     
  13. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    13,471
    Location:
    Texas
    If the EEPROMs get corrupted, they have to be cleared at the factory. Used to be a somewhat common occurrence with routers.
     
  14. apacheguy

    apacheguy S Sig #255

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,669
    Location:
    So Cal
    I'm surprised it doesn't do an MD5 check on the downloaded firmware files.
     
  15. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    13,471
    Location:
    Texas
    My guess is that it does, but there are other things that can go wrong.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC