Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Help! Need Model S 100D Advice

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello Tesla Owners,

I need some advice. I've been in the market for a tesla 100D for some time, and I've dreamed of getting one and upgrading it to have FSD so that I can take advantage of the enhanced autopilot features and all subsequent autopilot rollouts.

A 2018 Model S 100D has come up in my area at the $60K mark with FSD already installed, the only sticking point is that it has 75K miles. I test drove it today and it seems to be in very good shape.

So my questions are:
Is it safe to get this car with that mileage?
Has anyone had issues with 2018 Model S's once they are out of normal warranty?
Is this a decent deal or am I getting fleeced?

I'm no expert but the price depends on the details.

Do you have maint history?

It is a private sale and also includes MCU2/AP3 hardware? I don't recall offhand when that became standard.

Do you have the FSD "license" or "software", not just the above-mentioned HW? Officially that's not supposed to transfer but for a private sale Tesla may never know. Again do some research - if it does come with the FSD software, would Tesla remove it if you came in for service one day and they realize you are not the "owner" of the FSD software? I've not heard of that happening. But if Tesla ever owned the car (a.k.a., trade-in) the FSD software will definitely be disabled.

Something like a TeslaFi history would be great but short of that check the battery degradation. I have a '17 MS100D and I'm in the bottom 10% for my model in TeslaFi - I don't know why.

Many today have regrets about paying a lot of money for FSD. If possible try to drive it. And try to guess if it's worth the price for what you get after the novelty wears off. Some doubt they will ever succeed with true L5.

Don't believe anything Elon says. Nothing.