TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Help! Stranded w Software Error 0x1533, 0x400

Discussion in 'Roadster' started by Panicopticon, Aug 24, 2014.

  1. Panicopticon

    Panicopticon Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY, USA
    Hello,

    Everything has been lovely with my Roadster until a few minutes ago. Drove it this morning, was fine. Brought it home, plugged it in, charging fine. Stopped the charge, unplugged ... and software error. OVMS started alerting the same error repeatedly.

    Red Fault, Service Required. Showing Error 0x1533, Data 0x400.

    Car starts, but won't shift into gear.

    Unplugged OVMS, waited a bit, still no dice.

    Anyone have any suggestions?

    Thank you!
     
  2. spaceballs

    spaceballs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    Sammamish
  3. bonnie

    bonnie Oil is for sissies.

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    14,241
    Location:
    Columbia River Gorge
    I haven't seen that error before. Did you already open and close the charge port door? (Like a reboot.) That's resolved things a few times for me.
     
  4. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,852
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    If you rapidly open and close the charge port door a number of times (5 or 8 - can't recall) then it will reboot the touchscreen computer. Might help.
     
  5. Panicopticon

    Panicopticon Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY, USA
    No love. She had to go for a 125 mi flat bed ride. Shes back in the garage at home now. We'll see what Tesla says tomorrow when the techs are available.
     
  6. PV4EV

    PV4EV Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Area 51 / UK
    #6 PV4EV, Aug 25, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2014
    Sorry to hear about the error code requiring a visit to the service centre.

    But I'm curious - on the bottom of your posts you state you have Roadster #931 ... Is this correct ? .. I ask because my car is 'also' #931 !

    I would have thought chassis numbers are unique irrelevant of the territory in which they were sold. So this is seems like a bit of a mystery ..
     
  7. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,852
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    The US/Canada Roadsters have a separate VIN number series from the Europe/Asia cars.
     
  8. slcasner

    slcasner Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    565
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Amusing coincidence for post #6 about VIN 931: Last edited by PV4EV; Today at 09:31 AM.
     
  9. Panicopticon

    Panicopticon Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY, USA
    Yes, I'm 931 as well.

    There is a VIN position that indicates which region the car was intended for (Decoding Tesla Roadster VINs - Page 8) if you look at the PDFs linked in that post they explain how to parse them.

    Car will be taking a trailer trip down state early next week. Sigh.
     
  10. Roadrunner13

    Roadrunner13 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Montreal
    Sorry to ear about the long trip 'home' to the SC...
    Be sure to come back and update us and the http://www.teslamotorsclub.com/forumdisplay.php/108-Wiki for this new error code when you learn more!

    Good luck!
     
  11. Panicopticon

    Panicopticon Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY, USA
    #11 Panicopticon, Aug 26, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2014
    Done and done. In case anyone wants to see what that looks like:
    _20140826_195823.JPG _20140826_192545.JPG _20140826_192613.JPG


    From the USB logs, flash/firmware.rc:
    vms : vms.image : 906028 : 15.1.0 : 0.0.0 : VMS-R4 : 1 :

    And from the linux console & boot messages, flash/messages:
    Aug 24 19:15:35 syslog: VMS: VMS restarted - version 13.3.0

    There in lies the problem I suspect. No idea why it reverted though. Perhaps a failing flash part?
     
  12. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,852
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Wow, that's a weird fault to occur spontaneously. Failing flash part sounds plausible... but still weird. What are the odds that it would cause the version number to be wrong?
     
  13. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,665
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    So the VMS restarted, couldn't load the new firmware, so reverted to old. Then, version mismatch.

    Neat. Could be a one-off (ie; another reboot could fix it), or as you say something corrupt on the new firmware.
     
  14. WarpedOne

    WarpedOne Supreme Premier

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,657
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    It could be that "version mismatch" is kindda generic message that is also displayed when hash codes mismatch.
    And hash is there to detect failing flash.
     
  15. spaceballs

    spaceballs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    Sammamish
    I assume he already pulled and reinserted the ESS service disconnect.
     
  16. Roadrunner13

    Roadrunner13 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Montreal
    You might want to expand on that, no one proposed this so far to him AND the car is not at the SC yet (only supposed to go next week).

    I also remember reading about 'rebooting' the VMS by disconnecting & reconnecting its power cable that is dangling somewhere close under the dash on the passenger side?

    ...mind you if you succeed in clearing the error either way because the flash failing(or other problem) is intermittent,
    you'll end up hiding the problem away for the SC investigation until it fails more permanently and you get stranded again :-(
     
  17. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,665
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I've seen this done, and wouldn't suggest it. That cable is damn tight - the rangers have a special tool for removing it without damage.
     
  18. Botbldr45

    Botbldr45 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Location:
    Sedona, Az
    Hate to be stupid but........
    What's a failing flash???
     
  19. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,721
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    You don't need to pull the ESS to get the computer to reboot, the main harness plug can be accessed right in front of the center shift console. Anytime the USB stick can't be recognized Tesla pulls / reinserts the plug which reboots it.
     
  20. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,852
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Flash memory. Among other things, it's used to store the program for embedded processors. There are of course other possible causes.
     

Share This Page