Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Help with detailed run through of insurance at pick up (BC)

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hey guys,

I'm picking up my car up on June 14th. This is my first time buying a brand new car as my last one was a old beater hand me down so I never had to deal with this stuff so I just want to confirm with you guys.

My insurance doesn't renew until July. I've read people getting quotes from BCAA for optionals beforehand? I admit I'm really clueless on this part. Do I just go in with my existing insurance papers and get the basic insurance from the ICBC agent and then get the optionals from BCAA later? How does this whole process go?

I'm trading in the old beater car so I'm guessing I can keep my existing plates and just get the plate holders from Tesla when I pick up from West 4th? Do I pay for the new insurance on the spot?

P.S. Do they want me to park my trade in car in the basement parking?

Thanks in advance.

was in the same boat as I never bought a new car before. I just called my insurance and asked them to cancel on my old vehicle the day I brought it in for the trade in. And I called CAA in QC and gave them the VIN and ask them to start the insurance the same day. They sent me a proof of insurance of the Tesla I bought, that I showed on pick up and that was ir. Enjoy your new car !:)

• Disagree
  • Informative
Reactions: samk579 and 525SNAP
was in the same boat as I never bought a new car before. I just called my insurance and asked them to cancel on my old vehicle the day I brought it in for the trade in. And I called CAA in QC and gave them the VIN and ask them to start the insurance the same day. They sent me a proof of insurance of the Tesla I bought, that I showed on pick up and that was ir. Enjoy your new car !:)