TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Hey florida. Little Help! Birmingham to miami for bcs in my roadster, maybe

Discussion in 'Florida' started by Bamashrink, Dec 9, 2012.

1. Bamashrink

Bamashrink Member

Hey Gang.
    having my roadster delivered soon and seeing if birmingham to miami is possible. I think my only shot is to use hpc's along the way.
    Thanks

2. bonnie

bonnie Oil is for sissies.

What about using 14-50s at RV parks along the way?

3. Bamashrink

Bamashrink Member

Hey bonnie,
    looking into that as well but my car is just coming with the mc 240 30 amps, would take too long i think.

4. wstuff

wstuff Junior Member

14-50's at RV parks are 50 amps, what do you need, I am on 27 in sebring and have a 14-50 u can use. I have no knowledge of how the Roaster is different, Robert

5. Bamashrink

Bamashrink Member

Am i misinterpreting the charging rate? Doesn't the mc 240 limit the charging to 30 amps? Something like 10 hours to a full charge?

6. brianman

brianman Burrito Founder

Suppose it does. Is 10 hours "far more" than a good night's sleep for you? If not, just plug in before dinner and unplug after breakfest.

7. bonnie

My UMC limits to 40 amp. I charge on a NEMA 14-50 & draw 40.

8. Bamashrink

Bamashrink Member

I'll need to make the trip in 2 days, approx 800 miles. Dont think i can do that if i have to drive 200 miles and charge for 10 hours. Wash, rinse, repeat.

9. bonnie