Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

HI! New member from So. Cal.

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello everyone, new member from So. Cal. specifically from the I.E. area, I currently do not own any EV vehicle but I'm considering purchasing a used Model S. I have barely started looking and am not just ready to "pull the trigger", I have no knowledge on EV cars and really drawn to the Model S because of the looks and styling. I currently have a Camry and Silverado, I have a 35 mile commute to work one way about 95% freeway w/ a carpool and about 5% street, I don't carpool but would love to commute in the carpool lane to save some time.

So I basically have come here in hopes to meet current owners that can give me real world advice on owning a Tesla.

Thanks!

...So I basically have come here in hopes to meet current owners that can give me real world advice on owning a Tesla.

Thanks!

You can visit a Tesla store.

There's a user monthly meet-up also:

This group's content is available only to members - The Tesla Owners Club of Orange County (Lake Forest, CA) | Meetup

Being able to drive in carpool lane with an EV is such a great benefit. You should try it.

Hi @bakerboy, I help run the group that @Tam has linked to and we welcome owners and Future owners to our meet ups... the next live Meetup (with open RSVPs) is in Lake Forest for Brunch at Bru on the 19th... the link provided above is for the group, or check my signature line...

Welcome, @bakerboy!

IMHO, you don't need much knowledge to be an owner of a Tesla Model S. At least, not these days.

I think you need these things:
  • A 240V/40A line out to your garage or wherever you park your car overnight
    • An electrician can install this for you -- it's like adding a line for a clothes dryer
    • You'll have a full battery every morning -- most owners charge to 90%, not 100%, for battery longevity