TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

High Bitrate Streaming Capability

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Black/Black MS, Apr 2, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Black/Black MS

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    On the order page for the Model S it advertises "High Bitrate Streaming Capability" for the UHF Sound system. Presumably that's for Slacker radio. Is that a new thing, or is that something that works on earlier facelift Model S' with UHFS? If so, how do you enable it?
     
  2. boonedocks

    boonedocks Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,301
    Location:
    Gainesville, GA
    I had a 2015 S85D standard audio with Reus upgrade. I don't remember seeing the high bit selector on it. My new S100D with UHFS does have the selector button under the sign in info at the bottom of the Slacker streaming screen. It must be a new addition for UHFS system for Slacker audio
     
  3. scottflys

    scottflys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Argyle, TX
    You have to have the Premium account and you really can't hear the difference
     
    • Like x 1
  4. boonedocks

    boonedocks Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,301
    Location:
    Gainesville, GA
    IMG_0790.jpg


    I see what you are taking about. It is an option on my S100D with UHFS:
     
    • Helpful x 1
  5. Jashev

    Jashev Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Wrightsville, PA
    If you scroll to the bottom of the slacker screen, there is a checkbox to enable high bit rate streaming.
     
    • Like x 1
  6. Black/Black MS

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6 Black/Black MS, Apr 2, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2017
    Do you need to purchase a premium account to be able to do that? All I see is the sign in option at the bottom of the screen.


    Edit: found it. You need to tap the "sign in" button, then it takes you to a log in screen and there's a "high quality bitrate" option on that page. Still unclear to me if that's active if you're not actually signed in to an account.
     
  7. Jashev

    Jashev Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Wrightsville, PA
    Not sure myself. Hard to hear the difference. I did find that with the premium account, if my changes don't show in the car, I log out and back in again and everything is there.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC