TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Home charge current limit?

Discussion in 'The UK and Ireland' started by AntonM, Nov 2, 2019.

  1. AntonM

    AntonM Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Thusfar my home charge has been limited to 10A max. I had an electrician out today to move the charge pod for unrelated reasons and while he was here I asked if the pod limited the charge, and he said it could handle 16A comfortably. So I adjusted the current rate on the car's screen to 15A, plugged it in, but it was back to "10A/10A" and would not let me push it any higher (lower, yes).

    So, if it's not limited by the charge pod, it must be the charge cable that came supplied with the car? Is that right?
     
  2. Adopado

    Adopado Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    Scotland
    No, the supplied type 2 cable should not be limiting the charge.
     
  3. AntonM

    AntonM Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Oh - is there a way of increasing the charge rate then?
     
  4. NorfolkMustard

    NorfolkMustard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2019
    Messages:
    1,807
    Location:
    Blighty
    What cable are you using., and what are you plugging it into?

    This one?
    [​IMG]
     
  5. AntonM

    AntonM Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, that one - the big end takes an adaptor for a UK 3-pin mains plug, which plugs into the pod, which the electrician said can pump out 16A.
     
  6. NorfolkMustard

    NorfolkMustard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2019
    Messages:
    1,807
    Location:
    Blighty
    ah, thought so. That, with the domestic 3-pin-plug adapter, is limited to 10 amps whatever it's plugged into.

    To get more you need a commando socket or electric vehicle charging socket installed on the house. The former will let you use the other (blue) adapter for the cable in the picture above and give you 16amps. The latter will let you use the other cable supplied with the car (like the all-blue one below) which you can also use on public AC charging points like PodPoint @ Tesco etc

    [​IMG]
     
    • Helpful x 2
    • Like x 1
  7. arg

    arg Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,730
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Note that the first figure here is what the car is currently using, and the second figure is the maximum that the external equipment has told the car it can take.

    So you can't turn it up with the car controls to anything bigger than the 2nd figure.
     
  8. ThrustSSC

    ThrustSSC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Evesham
    Worth mentioning that you can also get a (larger) 32A blue adapter for about £17...
     
  9. TM3PTN

    TM3PTN Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    Bolton
    I paid £40 for mine from Tesla (including £8 postage) - wish i would have known! :confused:
     
  10. AntonM

    AntonM Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for all the comments - cleared things up very nicely. FWIW I'm going to stick with what I've got as it covers my real-world needs. Just thought I might get more out of it but if I can't, it's fine, I'll make do.
     
  11. TM3PTN

    TM3PTN Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    Bolton
    I had an electrician come over today to wire up a dedicated 32A line using commando socket.

    The car eventually made it to 32/32A and was giving me 28mi/hr charge rate.

    I stopped the charge just to see what happened (curiosity more than anything), and when I restarted the charge via the Tesla app i can't seem to get anything above 17/32A which is around 15mi/hr.

    Any ideas?
     
  12. AndrewGR

    AndrewGR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    I can't imagine any competent electrician saying you can get 16A from a standard UK power socket. UK plugs have a maximum 13A fuse in them!
     
    • Like x 1
  13. WannabeOwner

    WannabeOwner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,761
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    I don't know what brand charger the O/P has, but some of them have both Type-2 socket and a 13-AMP socket, so if the O/P has one of those there is room for confusion
     
  14. AntonM

    AntonM Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    It isn't a standard power socket - it's a dedicated EV charge pod, which comes directly off the distribution board.
     
  15. NorfolkMustard

    NorfolkMustard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2019
    Messages:
    1,807
    Location:
    Blighty
    #15 NorfolkMustard, Nov 6, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2019
    It's a standard (3-pin, BS1363) socket as far as the tesla mobile connector is concerned though, which are rated upto 13amps AFAIK. Above 13amps and you're into commando socket territory (the two blue adapters below)

    [​IMG]


    Can you upload a picture of your wall socket for us?
     
  16. Adopado

    Adopado Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    Scotland
    I'm confused. I thought you had said it was for plugging in a 13 amp plug (standard plug)? That doesn't sound like an EV charging socket. Picture and more details required!
     
  17. VanillaAir_UK

    VanillaAir_UK Saving the environment, one person at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    5,249
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Sounds like it could be something like a Podpoint with 13A socket? Hopefully there is also a Type 2 output too.
     
  18. navt

    navt Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    London, U.K.
    I'm getting 32A/32A from my Rolec.
     
  19. AntonM

    AntonM Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Sorry about the confusion - the car pod's individual distribution board connection can put out 16A, but of course the plug blows at 13A - which shouldn't happen because the car's cable limits it to 10A.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC