TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Home link

Discussion in 'Roadster: Technical' started by Eberhard, Dec 11, 2010.

  1. Eberhard

    Eberhard #421 Model S #S32

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi, I have a Bosch 27Mhz RemoteControl. Its in the compatible-List of Homlink/Johnsen.
    But my Tesla connot see it. wht am i doing wrongP Please help.

    eberhard
     
  2. Eberhard

    Eberhard #421 Model S #S32

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    Germany
    i tried again and i was not patient enough. It just takes time min. 2 min and there is no reaction from the system before. it works now.
     
  3. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #3 dsm363, Jan 1, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
    I wish they would program it so your main homelink button (on the main VDS) always activated your primary homelink option. If you have more than one, then you go into the menu to get to it. Shouldn't be too hard for them to program.
     
  4. SByer

    SByer '08 #383

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,068
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    Seems like the VDS should be able to remember the preference by location, no?
     
  5. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    That's a great point. I didn't even think about that. It does it for the charge settings so no reason why it couldn't do it. It's just convenient to just push a single button when approaching your garage instead of going through 3 screens. I guess it could be a problem is someone programmed 2 different garage doors at the same location though but that doesn't apply to me.
     
  6. kgb

    kgb Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Yes, but even for those with 2 doors at one location, they usually only use one... the one by the charger :wink:
    If a person with 2 doors at one location wanted to use the other door, he/she could navigate through the 3 screens. Personally, I think using the GPS info is a great idea.
     
  7. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Makes sense. Usually two separate garage doors would use two separate signals so you're right, wouldn't be a problem. I added a second one but then deleted it from VDS so the main button would work my home garage and just carry around the second remote until the fix this. I imagine it would be a simple fix in the firmware for Tesla. I'm going to mention to my Tesla sales contact person.
     
  8. Fuzzylogic

    Fuzzylogic EU Sport 359 & S94

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    My garage door uses a 40Mhz remote, and is about 10 years old.
    Doesn't say Homelink anywhere, but i tried it anyway. It registered, and works perfect!

    Makes me happy, as the remote took up 20% of the available space in the glove box :smile:
     
  9. Jaff

    Jaff Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,007
    Location:
    Grimsby, Canada
    I have a Liftmaster garage door opener (about 2 years old)...have tried repeatedly up to 5 minutes to link, but my Roadster cannot see it...anyone else experiencing the same problem?
     
  10. bonnie

    bonnie Oil is for sissies.

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    14,241
    Location:
    Columbia River Gorge
    I like the UI just the way it is - I have a gate to get through first, then one of two garage doors. I hit the Homelink button, then I see 'Gate South North'. Much easier that way than to hit the Homelink, have the gate open, then have to hit again to find the other menu options. And I'd be annoyed every day leaving the house because I'd want the garage door first, not 'gate'.
     
  11. AndrewBissell

    AndrewBissell Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    @Jaff. I couldn't program my garage door either, but Andy from Tesla did it. The trick was to program it a few miles away from the garage. I have no idea why this worked!
     
  12. Jaff

    Jaff Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,007
    Location:
    Grimsby, Canada
    Really?...that sounds bizarre enough to work...Thanks, I'll give it a try! :smile:


     
  13. Jaff

    Jaff Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,007
    Location:
    Grimsby, Canada
    #13 Jaff, Apr 16, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011
    Just tried that Andy...it was a no go...Liftmaster is on Homelink's partner list...I wonder if there is a hardware problem with the speaker...
     
  14. bonnie

    bonnie Oil is for sissies.

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    14,241
    Location:
    Columbia River Gorge
    My garage door openers are Liftmaster and easily worked with Homelink. (The gate took a bit more, require a module so it could talk to Homelink.)

    What I don't understand is how anyone could program it away from the garage. In programming mine, after Homelink accepted the signal from the remote, the next instruction was to complete the registration within 30 seconds by pressing the programming button on the actual Liftmaster unit.
     
  15. Jaff

    Jaff Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,007
    Location:
    Grimsby, Canada
    That might have been the problem though Bonnie...I can't get by step one (getting Homelink to accept the signal from the remote)...turns out, it made no difference..
     
  16. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,379
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    BTW, a friend of mine (Hey Timothy!) was noticing that via OVMS his Roadster's Homelink seemed to have a longer range.

    Well, at first that made no sense to me, but then I thought that maybe OVMS was sending a longer duration signal. So, when I got home I tried holding down the Homelink "button" for a longer time - and sure enough - it opened from further away!

    18 months and I'm just finding this out!?! What threw me off was the "bop" sound when you press the button. That short sound makes it seem like holding wouldn't do any good - after all you don't get a longer sound or a repeat sound. But, turns out that empirical evidence seems to indicate that holding down the button sends a longer signal, which means you're more likely to be able to open your garage door/gate from further away.

    Also, I sometimes had to try a few times to get my gate opened. By holding, it now always opens first time.

    BTW, per previous discussion here, my gate uses a new Liftmaster opener (battery backup!) and needed nothing special to work with my Roadster.
     
  17. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,850
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I'm terribly sorry for not posting that a year ago! I too had assumed because of the "bop" sound that it was only sensitive to the first push.

    I only discovered that I could hold it the button down about... 18 months after getting the car. I'm detecting a pattern here.
     
  18. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,379
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Proof positive that even minute details of UI feedback can have a big effect on usability.

    What we need now is two-way communication. You tell the garage door to open, and it acknowledges back. Then the car can keep pressing as you drive up until it gets the response, or times out. Come 'on guys, we're in the 21st century now!
     
  19. Timothy

    Timothy Driving on Sunshine

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    I have to use the Homelink twice to get home. First on a gate; then on the garage door.

    What I have noticed is this: when I press the Homelink button on the car and I am too far away from the gate, the gate doesn't open. When I push the Homelink button on the OVMS from too far away, the gate doesn't open either. BUT when I continue driving towards the gate, it then opens without pushing the Homelink button a second time. I am within line of sight of the gate the entire time.

    When I try this on my garage door, I push the OVMS button about a hundred yards away from the garage. I am down a hill and around a corner from the garage--completely out of sight. When I turn the bend and crest the hill and am in sight of the garage--20 yards away, the door then opens without pushing the button again. This does not happen when I push the Homelink button in the car that far away. For the garage door to open with the Homelink button on the car, I have to be 20 yards away and in line of sight.

    And either way, the garage door can be opened from 20 yards away, but the gate only 5 yards away. A big but consistent difference in distance.

    So I don't really have longer range with the OVMS, I can just push the button further away from the gate/garage. But the gate/garage starts opening the same distance from the car whether I use the OVMS or car Homelink button.

    The OVMS just seems a lot cooler!

    Go figger.
     
  20. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,655
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Comments here about OVMS homelink vs VDS homelink are bizarre. The OVMS homelink just sends exactly the same codes as the VDS homelink. The reason I know is because we got the codes by looking at those sent by the VDS. The codes are sent on the CAN bus to the homelink unit, which then just does the transmission.

    Perhaps this is a "bug" in OVMS? Perhaps there is a "start homelink" and "stop homelink" code and we're only sending the first one. I'll raise it on the developers forum.
     

Share This Page