TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Homelink — Change Transmit Mode

Discussion in 'Model X: User Interface' started by Musterion, Oct 8, 2017.

  1. Musterion

    Musterion 18h 03m 37s −24° 23′ 12″

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    M8
    Hi folks, I have new Model X and a Classic Model S. Like others, I have big problems with the Homelink functionality on the new Model X and with recent software revisions through 2017.38.4 (but no problems on trusty Model S). I believe the problem may be due to new Homelink hardware revisions since at some point, the Homelink hardware has changed and in new versions (I have all new hardware revision for other stuff on Model X like AP2.5, etc.), there is a now an option to “Change Transmit Mode” with a warning that if you change the mode, it clears all programming. The choices are only “Standard” and “Default Receiver.” What the heck are these and has anyone tried to change to other transmit mode to fix Homelink problems? There is absolutely no mention of this transmit mode setting that I can find in the literature. The issues with Homelink are not related to rolling-code vs dumb receiver, since I have issues with both on the MX. I have issued in-car bug reports. Thanks!
     
  2. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    So you’re saying there is new Homelink hardware on new cars? My new X (AP 2.5) was produced around Sept 1st and I’ve not seen these options. Where are they in the Homelink menu? If they’re obvious, then I don’t have them and I wonder when they appeared. (And that means the 17.36+ issues aren’t from the new hardware....)
     
  3. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Okay, I do see this option. This must have appeared in 17.38 as it definitely wasn’t there when I programmed the car originally with 17.36 two weeks ago (original software from the SC).

    Mine says Standard (what it’s using) and ‘Default Receiver’ for the other option.

    I’ve not tried anything since after the last reboot five openings have just worked. And now it’s failed. Let me investigate...
     
  4. Musterion

    Musterion 18h 03m 37s −24° 23′ 12″

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    M8
    I’m convinced there is new Homelink hardware on my late-Sept-2017-build MX (VIN 68k) at least compared to what used to ship with Model S, but I don’t know when it appeared first in MX (or MS). If your null observation is correct, it was very recently, but then doesn’t explain the recent Homelink boondoggle as you say. As for the option, it was first thing I noticed when programming; here ‘tis mate:

    EBEAE875-DE51-4EC4-934D-E72D60E28165.jpeg
     
  5. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Quite agree, I think we cross posted. :D Not sure now if it’s worth it to delete my config and re-do it with the other transmitter type (‘Default’)?
     
  6. Musterion

    Musterion 18h 03m 37s −24° 23′ 12″

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    M8
    Our MX came with 2017.38 and I always had the transmit mode option, which persists with 2017.38.4. Also the Homelink problems span both firmware versions for me, and I am using the factory default transmit mode, “Standard.” Haven’t tried the other because I figured someone else would have tried by now. But my comment about new hardware is based on my Model S not showing the same option for the same firmware revisions. Now I will double-check the S.
     
  7. Daniellane

    Daniellane Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Camas, Washington
    I’m still on 17.36...

    Has anyone you rechecked the Homelink section of the onboard user manual for the mode settings explanation? (Controls/settings tab. Book Icon on Lower left of 17” screen)
    In my limited experience new features get documented there along with the update.
     
  8. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Yeah, no new updates in the onboard manual that I can see. Is there a quick way to search for things or are we stuck with scrolling to the entry?
     
  9. kdday

    kdday Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    AZ
    I have a December 2016 build and I am also on 2017.38 and I have both options. My home link has also been crappy on this FW version, but worked great before that. I have not tried the two options, just "Standard"
     
    • Informative x 1
  10. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Well, this sounds like fun... :D Add a new option, mess things up, no doc. If the other option fixes it and they didn’t doc it, not going to be happy.

    I might be able to redo this in a day or so. Anyone want to beat me to it?
     
  11. Musterion

    Musterion 18h 03m 37s −24° 23′ 12″

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    M8
    OK I’m a moron as they say. In fact my S is at 2017.36 firmware but shows the new “transmit mode” selection, which I hadn’t noticed before. So perhaps Homelink has not changed hardware recently, but the bigger issue remains: 2017.36 seems to work fine with Homelink (does on my S and does with other folks on their X). Something in 2017.38 broke this and now we have a new mode selection to fiddle with and try to fix our woes.

    Go for the win.
     
  12. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Yeah, lol, we all have the same thing I guess. :D
    (17.36 shows it? I could have sworn it wasn’t there when I got the car with that rev... I give up then...)

    So, I went ahead and tried the new option, as I couldn’t wait. Completely weird. The original ‘Standard’ does what we expect, you program it with your remote, yada yada.

    When you change it over to ‘Default Receiver’ (which maybe should be ‘Default Transmitter’), wait for it... it doesn’t ask you to program anything. It doesn’t want to use your remote sender at all. It skips that step, tells you to push the button on your door opener (or not, if it’s an auto-learn, etc.). I did all that, nothing. Didn’t work. Did it all twice.

    Changed it back, had it learn my remote again, worked perfectly. Opened the door and closed it. We’ll see how long it lasts.

    I have no idea what ‘Default Receiver’ means to Homelink, perhaps we need to google Homelink, perhaps it’s not ready for prime time yet (shocker that, an option that’s not fully baked..?).

    In any case, we can hope that deleting it and redoing it may do something. I’ll keep y’all posted on how long this lasts. :D
     
    • Like x 1
  13. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    One update: googling got me nowhere... Even on the Homelink site, all I see is what is in the doc... nothing more detailed and nothing about the new option.
     
  14. MX75D VGK

    MX75D VGK Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Truly embarrassing - I have to carry a garage door opener on my 2-week old MX :(
     
  15. Daniellane

    Daniellane Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Camas, Washington
    I have called Tesla...
    Tesla Roadside Assistance (877-79TESLA)
    for any issue I have come across that I could not resolve myself. They are always relentlessly helpful and professional. I would try giving them a call.
     
  16. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Someone can try that.... and I might next time it breaks to see if they are any better than the dozens of other support organizations I’ve dealt with over the decades. I’ll bet all they do is go through the reprogramming instructions. Sorry, but as a computer professional, I have an adversion to calling tech support. I typically waste hours and hours telling ‘the help desk’ people how things really work and getting nowhere and end up fixing it myself. I know we can’t do that in this exact case, but we can submit voice bug reports. Perhaps next time it doesn’t work and I have some spare time, I’ll make my first call to the support line. I’d love to be pleasantly surprised by Tesla. :D
     
  17. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Has it never worked? Because I don’t/never had that problem. It works and then breaks. A reboot always fixes it when it does break. Can you give more details?
     
  18. Musterion

    Musterion 18h 03m 37s −24° 23′ 12″

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    M8
    For the record, I did search google and all manuals — Tesla and Homelink — before starting this thread asking for help. There is no info on the transmit mode. Now, you can search that in quotes and it and does return one hit ... this thread.
     
  19. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Thanks for checking! Glad (I guess) there’s no easy answer!
    And, lol, wonderful, we’re out there. :) I’ll see what Tesla has to say when it breaks. I’m dying to see if my faith in Tesla support is better than every other customer support I’ve every tried (which is pretty poor about finding answers we didn’t already know!).

    More to come!
     
  20. Daniellane

    Daniellane Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Camas, Washington
    Well I have to say in my very recent experience, In an instance where they were unable to immediately rectify my Issue, The customer support person escalated it, I was contacted via phone and email by the same person I spoke to on the phone as promised once a resolution was reached. They definitely don’t seem to be following the typical technical support scripted IfTT responses I haven’t countered from Cable companies and the like.
    Perhaps I’ve just been lucky but I think Tesla customer support is awesome.
     

Share This Page