TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Homelink and Liftmaster 8500

Discussion in 'Model X: User Interface' started by Local host, Jul 17, 2016.

1. Local host

Local host Member

I have a liftmaster 8500 garage door opener that I have been unable to set up with homelink. No issues with my wife's rear view mirror mounted homelink on her ICE.

My X will receive the signal and acknowledges by flashing the headlights, but then doesn't open the door after I finish programming.

I am in Canada, so not sure if there is any difference in programming steps that have to be followed.

Does anyone have any tips or tricks I can try?

2. Big Ern

Big Ern Member

After the X receives the signal from the 8500 remote you then have to go to either the wall mounted button or get on a ladder and press the learn button to finish the programming.

• Like x 2
  3. Softwizard

Softwizard Member

I agree: it is a two-step process 1) program your Tesla homelink and then 2) have your liftmaster "learn" the Tesla

4. Local host

Local host Member

Thanks for the responses. I do complete the steps and try to have the liftmaster learn my Tesla's signal, but the lift master will never acknowledge that it has learned the signal (flashes ceiling light)

5. TSLA Pilot

TSLA Pilot Member

Have used our Liftmaster 8500 with three Tesla MS's; no problems with any of the programming. Perhaps you need a new battery in your remote? Try that and see if it helps the programming perhaps.

6. vandacca

vandacca Active Member

#6 vandacca, Jul 18, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2016