TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

HomeLink Gate Query/Problem

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by badboy1980, Dec 20, 2015.

  1. badboy1980

    badboy1980 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I have successfully setup my HomeLink with the garage opener. BUT I am having trouble getting it to work with the gate.

    I go through the procedure as indicated on the screen when it ask you to point the transmitter in front of the car. I do so and sure enough the lights flash.

    However, when actually pressing the button in the Tesla Model S screen with the connection now saved, it does not open the gates.

    I also played around with the DIP switches in the receiver to add another device, but it still does not work.

    Can anyone advise?

    My transmitter is the "LiftMaster (Chamberlain) D-66793 433MHz Type: F30B-R"

    The Receiver is "LiftMaster CB124EV"

    Hopefully someone is clever enough to help. Thanks!

    nb. Like is aid earlier, the garage opener worked fine 1st time around.
    :biggrin:
     
  2. Merrill

    Merrill Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,098
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    I had a problem with my gate years ago, was able to get the garage door to work but not the gate. In my case the gate openers were older and did not work with the Tesla home link. But the other thing to look at is opening the frunk and pointing the gate remote into the frunk as far as you can go until the headlights flash.
     
  3. FreeOfPge

    FreeOfPge Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Location:
    CA
    I had/have the same problem, HomeLink will not work with all gates. In our case the gate will eventually open if the button is clicked enough times, but it is a hassle so we use the remote rather than Homelink for the gate. There is a list of compatible products on their website, if your receiver is not on the list, it will not work properly.
     
  4. Thumper

    Thumper Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Corvallis, OR
    My S homelink works with a GTO Mighty Mule gate but it is erratic and the car needs to be close to the antenna. Often the gate will move slightly and then stop and I need to hit the icon again. I swear I do not double hit it.
     
  5. badboy1980

    badboy1980 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    FreeOfPge, i can see my transmitter (remote) is not on the list. I will purchase one that is and set it up with the gate. Then I will set it up with the Model S HomeLink. Hopefully then it will work....

    I will keep you posted. If anyone else can help in the meantime it will be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks to all who have posted...
     
  6. steve841

    steve841 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Two thoughts come to mind ... try programming with a different remote (sounds stupid, but my garage would not pair homelink with the standard remote).

    Also, check the opener settings (some have limited number of remotes that can pair).
     
  7. FloridaGary

    FloridaGary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    Orlando, FL.
    Check your owners manual to see if there is a limited number of remotes that can be programmed. I had to clear out all memory and then reprogram all remotes and homelink. All works well now.
     
  8. Whitmarsh

    Whitmarsh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Salisbury, UK
  9. Whitmarsh

    Whitmarsh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Salisbury, UK
    We got our 70D on 31 Jan and I tackled Homelink yesterday; making the link worked exactly as it says in the book. We have what they term 'very old' openers (dating from about 2000 and 2002) that do not use rolling codes, so the gate and garage openers didn't 'need to learn Model S'. I just pointed the remote controls at the right place, the headlights flashed (after a good couple of minutes) and Bob, as they say, was your uncle. What's more, although the car is supposed (in the EU) to support only devices that use the 433MHz range, ours use the old US frequency, 418. Anyway, I'm not complaining.

    There is one annoying thing, however: the buttons drop down as we approach our gates but, after we have tapped Gates, they disappear, which means that we have to tap the HL icon a few seconds later to get the garage button. Anyone else irritated by this? The book says 'When you approach a known location, the HomeLink control on the touchscreen automatically drops down. When you drive away, it disappears.' I don't know what that is supposed to mean - it disappears when you touch a button.
     
  10. simonog

    simonog Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    If your gates' controller is reasonably modern you have to do 3 steps:

    1. Use a remote to teach the car the codes
    2. Enable the gates' controller into learn mode to be prepared to accept the car as a valid device (not a stranger with any HOMELINK remote)
    3. Place the from of the car pointing at the gates' controller and as near as you can and pair it - this is often just a case of operating it once while the controller is in learn mode.

    It should then work as long as your controller is HOMELINK compatible. If it isn't, you can buy third party HOMELINK receivers with a relay output which will operate the controller's switched input (which most have).
     
  11. GoTslaGo

    GoTslaGo Learning Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    NV
    I think it may only recognize one gps coordinate as "home". I assume you have an outside Gate and a separate home garage. I'm the opposite. I have to click the "Homelink" button on top to call up the outside gate remote. Then the GPS feature pops up the remotes when I am directly outside my house so I can access the garage. I vaguely recall that the car prompted you to designate a home when you installed your remotes, but I could be wrong.

    I did have problems with touching the right spot to activate the garage (fat fingers? Gotta go to the gym...) remote button. When I tried to push the garage button, I would often bring up the "home link program screen" or tap into the underlying screen. Little trick, I added a unprogrammed "empty" remote. This lets me miss the garage remote, but doesn't pop out of the screen and interface. Still working on the gym part...
     
  12. Whitmarsh

    Whitmarsh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Salisbury, UK
    I think you're right - and Home seems to cover quite a large area; I set HomeLink up when the car was in the drive outside the garage but it nevertheless pops up the buttons when we are several yards up the road outside the gates, which is very useful. Yes, we have a gate into the drive(way) and a garage a little way in.

    I doubt that the gym will reduce the fat fingers and I don't think anything will stop mine shaking a bit now! The buttons are quite small and it's east to miss if the car road is a little rough; I try to brace my hand on the surround. I'll try your empty remote trick.
     
  13. john01

    john01 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Provincetown, MA - Mahopac, NY
    When I had problem with remote for garage, I called Tesla. I was told to hold the remote against the nose 6 inches to the left of the T. Lights flashed within seconds. Worked on both my old 2013 MS and my two week old new MS with Autopilot. Now both MS's can enter either garage slot.
     

Share This Page