TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Homelink = Hormann Automatic Gate / Garage Door Opener

Discussion in 'Europe' started by martinwinlow, Apr 4, 2015.

  1. martinwinlow

    martinwinlow Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    For those of us lucky enough to have an MS and a Hormann automatic garage door (and/or gate, for that matter) you may be interested to know that they are compatible and very easy to use with the MS. Once the Homelink opener/light/other billy-doo is programmed into the MS (a simple matter - just follow the instructions on the MS' touchscreen - Controls > Settings > HomeLink - and/or the instructions on page 109 of V6.2 MS' Owners manual), the MS will automatically drop down a Homelink control on the touchscreen when you get 'close' to wherever the MS was programmed to use the relevant Homelink-compatible device - tap on the recant item and it will operate. MW
     
  2. dlt

    dlt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Finland
    which Hormann model? I have been advised by local Garage door installation company that Hormann opener works but they have to change the receiver to a homelink compatible one (inside the motor box). They have tried that with Tesla?
    Do you mean that Hormann works directly. I understood that they have some proprietary encryption protocol which is not supported by HomeLink
     
  3. CHG-ON

    CHG-ON Still in love after all these miles

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,754
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, USA
    Mine works fine on my ancient Genie opener too. The drop down shows at about 40 or so ft from the opener every time.
     
  4. dlt

    dlt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Finland
    Yes old openers usually work. The Hormann mentioned in the opening post is a modern one with their own encryption protocol, not compatible with homelink
     
  5. martinwinlow

    martinwinlow Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    Sorry - I forgot to subscribe to my own post and missed these replies.

    The Hormann remote I use is an HSE2-868 (868MHZ). The MS works fine with both the original garage door operator as well as the spare receiver I used to add Hormann HSE2 control to my front gate. Whether that is the 'modern' one referred ot by DLT or not, I don't know, but it certainly works fine with my Hormann equipment.

    "I have been advised by local Garage door installation company that Hormann opener works but they have to change the receiver to a homelink compatible one" Well they would, wouldn't they! MW
     
  6. Mitrovic

    Mitrovic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    Bern, Switzerland
    Even the Homelink button on my roadster works with Hormann. My Hormann installation is about 4 years old.
     

Share This Page