TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Homelink is here in Australia?

Discussion in 'Australia & New Zealand' started by paulp, Sep 20, 2018.

  1. paulp

    paulp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I briefly had homelink on my touch screen today, located at the top. Evidently australian cars that have the hardware are being activated. Hence check your screens!
     
    • Like x 1
  2. Icey

    Icey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Adelaide/Melbourne
    Woah!!! Hold your horses....

    This happened some time ago and it was a bug.... Last time it was around for a day or so then disappeared again...
    Don't get use to it if you do have it.

    Of course.. I hope that it is around to stay...
     
    • Like x 1
  3. paulp

    paulp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I recieved reliable advice that its real, as of today.
     
    • Like x 1
  4. 917Stark

    917Stark Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I have it on my screen. Tried to teach it my remotes without success. Seems to hang before the teaching step. Too good to be true?
     
  5. paulp

    paulp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I was also advised that it doesn’t work with older doors.
     
  6. meloccom

    meloccom Moderator Aus/NZ

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    It appeared on my screen today too. Tried to create a new Homelink and it tells me it will take up to a minute but the programming box simply disappears after about 10 seconds . I can’t get any further so perhaps I don’t have the hardware. Would be happy to buy the Homelink Box if I have the loom connection.
    Will ask Service next week.
     
    • Like x 1
  7. Jays200

    Jays200 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I am waiting for a call back from Tesla support who confirmed it was a feature added to Aus/NZ owners in 34.1

    Like others I'm having the exact same response as "meloccom"

    I'll report back.

    BTW, 2018.36.2 seems to be the newest update. Might help with Homelink, but I doubt it.
     
  8. Jays200

    Jays200 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Oh well,

    "Good Evening Mr. Stanley,

    I was unable to reach you by phone, it looks like I'm not able to call Australia, I apologize for the inconvenience. As I have investigated further it looks like the HomeLink option is still not supported in Australia.

    Again, I am sorry for the inconvenience. If I can help with anything please let me know.

    Regards,

    Customer Support"

    It was fun while it lasted. At least I've got the icon. If only I could get the non functioning web browser icon too I'd be a completely satisfied customer, not. Now for a supercharger in Perth and all would be perfect.
     
    • Funny x 1
  9. conman

    conman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,055
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I'm on 32.2 and got the icon too. As others have noted, trying to program it doesn't work for me either.
     
  10. rohan3au

    rohan3au Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    TOCA Admin has confirmed this morning this is rolling out to Australian cars today, but will only work on cars built post mid-2017.
     
  11. EcoCloudIT

    EcoCloudIT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    @rohan3au how does this work, legally, for those that bought before mid-2017 when clearly on the advertising material/website HomeLink was there? Don't me started on the Summons auto-park when you get home in to the driveway o_O

    Maybe more reason for that new S's! :mad:
     
  12. shanelord

    shanelord Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    If this is the case I hope it's possible to update the homelink transceiver in the car for older models.

    Shane.
     
  13. conman

    conman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,055
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I don't recall homelink being in the advertising material in Australia?
     
  14. Murbs

    Murbs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    If this is true then it’s another example of Tesla being sloppy with the way they treat their customers.
    I don’t see any cars driving around lacking autopilot that still show the autopilot logo just to tease the driver.
    Come on Tesla, stop playing with us. It’s not cool :mad:
     
    • Like x 1
  15. ShockOnT

    ShockOnT ⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,798
    Location:
    Sydney
    I'm the same. Noticed the homelink icon, got as excited as a school girl, got home, wouldn't program, came to this thread, the crushing truths sets in...
     
  16. Jays200

    Jays200 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
  17. paulp

    paulp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Yes it was, around 3+ years ago.
     
  18. conman

    conman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,055
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Ah okay thanks. I got mine in 2017 and it wasn't there at the time.
     
  19. EcoCloudIT

    EcoCloudIT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    Surely if the hardware in pre-2017 model cars isn't going to be enabled for HomeLink it also then should not show in the cars...it is showing mine and I am a pre-2016 model....
     
  20. Murbs

    Murbs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    Tesla have now fixed the HomeLink issue.

    They have now deleted the icon :mad:
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC