TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Homelink not working in morning

Discussion in 'Model 3: User Interface' started by dano9258, Jul 17, 2018.

  1. dano9258

    dano9258 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    So I successfully setup both of our garage doors with homelink on my model 3 on Saturday. They both worked to open and close. I set it up to auto open the 2 car garage when I get close and that works everyday. However, for the past two days in the morning when I leave for work, the homelink won't close the garage or open the other one. The button is lit green and it automatically is dropped down but when I press either, it doesn't show the green lines showing it is transmitting. Am I doing something wrong? Like I said it worked as it should the first two days.

    Also on a side note, do I have to find a learn button for our neighborhood gate to get that programmed?
     
  2. albtrssp

    albtrssp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    I think there's some software issue here. The same thing happens to me. The HomeLink transmitter sometimes doesn't send out a signal, and I have to restart the console to get it to work. It's very annoying.
     
  3. dano9258

    dano9258 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Like the hard reset with the steering wheel scrolls or just restarting the car?
     
  4. dangTM3

    dangTM3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    I also ran into this issue this morning! No transmission when clicked on the HomeLink.
     
  5. Krash

    Krash Data Technician

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    967
    Location:
    Intermountain US
    So, every once in a while when this happens I push the homelink options to program the already programmed location and it opens the garage door while preparing to program. I always cancel at that point and drive in. Anyone willing to try that next time it doesn't work?
     
  6. Dana1

    Dana1 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Messages:
    296
    Location:
    Houston
    I can’t speak to the garage doors, mine works fine, but the gate bit is “No”. I pointed my remote at eye level to the bumper and it programmed. It will not auto open though.
     
  7. AZatul

    AZatul Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Scottsdale az
    I am having the same issue. It’s really annoying. Sometimes it shows it transmitting, sometimes it doesn’t transmit no matter what I do.
     
  8. shikhan

    shikhan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Oregon
    I've found that if I try to toggle the door while the car is in reverse it won't work, and whats worse, it will not work then if I shift into park or drive and try again.

    I now always just wait to finish my reveres maneuver, and once in drive, trigger it. Haven't had a problem since.
     
  9. AZatul

    AZatul Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Scottsdale az
    Confused on how you are getting it to work. Do you mean don’t touch it till you hit drive, then hit the button.
     
  10. shikhan

    shikhan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Oregon
    That's right. Just don't touch HomeLink while in Reverse.
     
  11. shikhan

    shikhan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Oregon
    Or at least, that's whats been working for me. Of course, now I fully expect it to not work for me even when I do this.


    [And wait, can I really not edit my posts?]
     
  12. BJD3388

    BJD3388 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Hi guys,

    By any chance are any of you using LED bulbs in your garage openers? I swapped out incandescent bulbs for LED ones and then my Homelink stopped working reliably when the bulbs were on.

    Amazon has specialized LED bulbs that are "interference fee" . Or you can go back to incandescent bulbs if you still have any

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IHHVZTW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_5bvuBbWZD7J3Y
     
  13. Thaiverson

    Thaiverson Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Huntington Beach
    Ughh my homelink suddenly stopped working as well. Was working great for almost 2 wks (got my car 7/7) and the initial set up was a breeze. Now I’m noticing I can’t transmit a signal (no green bars) even though it knows I’m at home since the icon turns green. Even when I hit the button to “manually” transmit, I get nothing. I tried to reset everything by re-programming and now the car won’t recognize my clicker at initial set-up... something that only took seconds to do the first time. I suspect it’s a hardware issue. :( Hopefully the Tesla rangers can fix it.
     
  14. Thunder7ga

    Thunder7ga Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Johns Creek, GA
    Same for me. Worked great until tonight then no transmitting the signal.
     
  15. PoitNarf

    PoitNarf The Clown Prince of Crime

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    NJ
    Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! This solved my problems. I never had any issue with using the homelink in my Mustang with my garage door opener but for whatever reason my Model 3 was much more finicky. I went to Lowe’s and picked up two of the Genie LED bulbs for garage door openers and all of my problems are now gone! The Model 3 is able to open and close the garage door on the first try without issue. My range also seems to have doubled!
     
  16. gene

    gene Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    I had the same issue but I rebooted the screen and the problem has been solved now.
     
  17. dano9258

    dano9258 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Hasn't come back? I've heard doing that temporarily solves it but it come back
     
  18. watilo

    watilo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    @BJD3388 Interesting thought about the LEDs. I have LEDs in both garages I park my 3 in, but I also have issues with a community gate where there are no lights nearby. Leads me to believe it’s Homelink in the 3 and not limited to LEDs, though I’m sure this can solve some one-off cases. Never crossed my mind though!
     
  19. gene

    gene Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    It has been 3 weeks now ans all is still well.
     
    • Like x 1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC