TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Homelink woes

Discussion in 'Model 3: User Interface' started by apacheguy, May 26, 2018.

  1. apacheguy

    apacheguy S Sig #255

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,936
    Location:
    So Cal
    I programmed my first homelink flawlessly on the first try. The second homelink refuses to take. The vehicle says it can’t find a signal. FWIW, both homelinks work fine on my Model S. Here’s what I’ve tried:

    1. Reproduced the steps at least 6 times exactly as indicated in the instructions
    2. Rebooted ICE
    3. Opened the frunk and held the remote in there
    4. Stood 3 feet away from bumper
    5. Repeated all of this on another day
    6. I’ve tried 3 separate remotes

    Anyone else had trouble getting it to read the signal? What’s the fix?
     
  2. animorph

    animorph Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,070
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Sure it's a remote that is Homelink compatible?
     
  3. apacheguy

    apacheguy S Sig #255

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,936
    Location:
    So Cal
    Yes. I used the same remote to program my other homelink (it has dual channels).
     
  4. Snerruc

    Snerruc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    697
    Location:
    Palm Bay
    Did you first program the remote to the Homelink and then add the opener? Also, did you fail and then not clear the Homelink button memory?
     
  5. SigNC

    SigNC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Messages:
    481
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    I had all kinds of problems with mine till i changed the remote batteries. it would open the door just fine but the car wouldn't see it. Changed batteries and it worked almost immediately.
     
    • Informative x 1
  6. Ryan Webb

    Ryan Webb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    I had a lot of trouble with mine...just couldn't get it to take. Turns out, my garage door opener was 'full' of codes...had to do a reset to clear it. Once I did that, the 3 programmed just fine. But I did have to re-program all of my clickers, and my S
     
  7. apacheguy

    apacheguy S Sig #255

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,936
    Location:
    So Cal
    Not sure what you mean. Yes, the remote was already programmed and has been working to open the gate for two years. What is the memory? I assume you mean on the vehicle? If so, it just reads “Not programmed”

    I used the same remote to program both homelinks. One worked the other did not. I also tried 3 different remotes. It’s not the batteries.

    What are these codes and how do you clear them?
     
  8. Ryan Webb

    Ryan Webb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Maybe codes was the wrong word to use there....my garage door opener had been linked with it's maximum number of devices (nothing I found actually said what that number was). I found directions for my specific model, on how to reset to clear it's memory. That's the only way I could get it to work, but it worked great - just had to reset everything up.
     
    • Helpful x 1
  9. Gauss

    Gauss New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Westchester
    I also had trouble programming. All of my remotes seemed to have decent batteries as they would open/close the garage but none would program homelink on my 3 (despite opening the frunk; holding the remote near the headlight, etc). Finally, I replaced the batteries in one of the remotes and that did the trick. I'll note also that once programmed, homelink on the 3 has about half of the range of the standalone remote.
     
  10. MistaEV

    MistaEV Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    East Coast
    The issue I have with Homelink, is that unless I am misunderstanding how it is supposed to work, the door should automatically open or close when you get within the preselected distance of the garage. Mine does not do this. I have to manually select open/close.
     
  11. Gauss

    Gauss New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Westchester
    Have you tried decreasing the distance? It didn't work for me beyond about 30 feet. Farther away and the signal wasn't strong enough to reach the garage opener.
     
  12. MistaEV

    MistaEV Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    East Coast
    I have gone down to 75, however, I will try something within the range you noted. Thanks!
     
  13. apacheguy

    apacheguy S Sig #255

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,936
    Location:
    So Cal
    Put new batteries in the remote. Still can’t read the signal. There isn’t any device memory to clear on my gate.

    I’ve now programmed 2 homelinks flawlessly on the first try. Not sure why this one is a problem.
     
  14. jboy210

    jboy210 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    540
    Location:
    California
    With my X you had to get pretty close to the front bumper. I ended up 12 inches away and with the remote at the level of the bumper.
     
  15. MistaEV

    MistaEV Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    East Coast
    I put the distance down to 30 feet and still no success. At this stage, I give up.
     
  16. Snerruc

    Snerruc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    697
    Location:
    Palm Bay
    This type of stuff a is known Homelink problem. Search for your car make and the brand of opener or gate closer . There are literally thousands of videos/ written instructions. I have always(so far) found one for my combo that solved the problem.
     
    • Like x 1
  17. MistaEV

    MistaEV Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    East Coast
    I'll try that later this evening, thanks for the idea.
     
  18. Nathanael

    Nathanael Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Toronto
    Hey! Just solved my problem. I have an old shitty remote / garage door system in a condo, so I wasnt sure if it was even going to work. I read someone had luck with programming the remote right underneath the headlight. My sweet spot was right up against the passenger door headlight.
     
    • Like x 1
  19. MistaEV

    MistaEV Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    East Coast
    After reading and rereading this multiple times since my last post (and going to the link I was referred to), I decided to redo the programming. As I went through the programming, I found myself holding the garage door opener in front of the bumper as instructed in another video I found. At this point, I realized that I could not recall having done that with the original programming. Once this was complete and it was set up, I gave it a test run. It worked perfectly. Now I have to figure out why the tone does not sound when it is set to open/close.
     
  20. rodrego66

    rodrego66 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Phoenix
    I am wondering if anyone else has had this problem. Brought my Model 3 home a while ago and was programming Homelink. My other car is a ICE vehicle, so I need garage door remote still. Programming Homelink went fairly well, but when I did, the remotes stopped working as did the key pad. I switched back to remotes, and forgot about it, but would really like to get homelink working as I am planning to get another Tesla soon. Any idea what went wrong?
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC